Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Includes Atari 2600, Nintendo 8-bit, Sega Master System, MSX and more!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by jeffslot » Sun Jun 17, 2012 2:27 pm

Hi Guys,

Not too sure why I pushed my luck so much.

I had managed to wire up my video encoder from longhornengineer without too much issue.

Image Image

But then I decided that the 2600 would fit much better in the case without the player two stuff - so I decided I should be able to cut off the right side of the board. Then I was thinking I would just need to hoop up a few items on the 4 x 4 square & I would be good to go, right? No such luck yet. I'm kind of stuck & could use some help. If you can help me figure out what I'm doing wrong I'd be so happy & can continue on with my project.

Here are a few pics.

Image Image

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by jeffslot » Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:33 am

Ok - I've made some progress. I've got my video back.

It turns out I had the wrong connection to the Y (+5 v in) see below.

Image Image

Now the big question is, do I push my luck & cut the rest of the board down to the 4 X 4 square, or do I stop while I'm ahead. I'm thinking I'll only need to move 1 wire (the red one that is going to the 7805 on hte left side. What do you guys think ?

Jeff

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by jeffslot » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:58 pm

Kind of depressing.

1st off - getting no response from the boards. I guess I should just be more patient.

2nd, I went & cut off left half of the board.... and now I do have video.... but only in B & W.......

:cry:

User avatar
c_mon
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Turkey

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by c_mon » Mon Jun 18, 2012 5:55 pm

You need to feed the color pot with 7.5v at least to get the color back...
I TAKE COMMISSIONS FOR CNC-ROUTED CASES AND PORTABLES... JUST P.M. ME!

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by jeffslot » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:02 pm

Yes, this definitely seems to be my area of confusion. Apparently I still need to use the color tint potentiometer. I guess that Unregulated still needs to go through it. I"m not sure what else, as I'm also using the longhorne engineer video mod or how those two items really need to work together. I guess if you could provide some infor on that I'd be really appreciative. Thanks.

P.S. I guess this explains why I was getting full color before I chopped of the left half of the board.....

User avatar
c_mon
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Turkey

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by c_mon » Wed Jun 20, 2012 4:57 am

Watch Ben's latest Atarip below and if you still don't understand, I can write a simple how-to here for you...



http://www.element14.com/community/docs ... atari-2600" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
I TAKE COMMISSIONS FOR CNC-ROUTED CASES AND PORTABLES... JUST P.M. ME!

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by jeffslot » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:18 pm

Hi, I enjoyed watching that video, but it basically shows Ben using his video mod, which maybe I should switch to. I'm using the longhorne mod, which I'm not real sure how it works in conjuction with the color tint potentiometer. I'm probably just being stupid. I do appreciate the help your giving me though. I guess If need be, I can just not remove the left portion of the board, next time too....

User avatar
c_mon
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Turkey

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by c_mon » Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:31 pm

You can cut to board as small as 4"x4". Removing the left part is not a problem; you can still have great video with LE mod with full color.

Buy this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/100pcs-504-500K ... 41672dceb5" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

You can use that pot with 5v. Right pin is Ground, Left pin is 5 volts and the middle(upper) pin is to TIA pin 10. TIA is the lowest chip on the board and it's numbered on the solder side.

All you need to do is that. Let us know the result...
I TAKE COMMISSIONS FOR CNC-ROUTED CASES AND PORTABLES... JUST P.M. ME!

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by jeffslot » Thu Jun 21, 2012 4:10 am

c_mon - Thanks for all of your help - I have purchased, now I just have to wait for them to arrive. Hopefully I'll be able to finish this project....

User avatar
c_mon
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Turkey

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by c_mon » Sun Jun 24, 2012 4:37 pm

No problem... Let us know when you fix the color...
I TAKE COMMISSIONS FOR CNC-ROUTED CASES AND PORTABLES... JUST P.M. ME!

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by jeffslot » Sun Jul 01, 2012 8:38 pm

No luck... :cry: still only B & W

I will have to post some pics of my set up......really sad, hate to kill another Atari.

User avatar
c_mon
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Turkey

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by c_mon » Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:25 am

Have you tried to adjust the color with a screwdriver? It should work. Check your connections. Also, it's good to send pictures...
I TAKE COMMISSIONS FOR CNC-ROUTED CASES AND PORTABLES... JUST P.M. ME!

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by jeffslot » Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:19 am

Yes, I did try adjusting w\ screwdriver.

Here is a picture anyways, not sure if it will help.
Image

Ground is connected to the metal strip around the 4 x 4 square
+5 is the bottom (yellow) wire & TIA pin 10 is top (red) wire.

Thanks

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by jeffslot » Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:19 am

Yes, I did try adjusting w\ screwdriver.

Here is a picture anyways, not sure if it will help.
Image

Ground is connected to the metal strip around the 4 x 4 square
+5 is the bottom (yellow) wire & TIA pin 10 is top (red) wire.

Thanks

User avatar
c_mon
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Turkey

Re: Need Help with 2600 ! Please Help !

Post by c_mon » Mon Jul 02, 2012 5:09 pm

I solder the pot in the following way:

Right pin is Ground, Left pin is 5 volts and the middle(upper) pin is to TIA pin 10.

It should help...
I TAKE COMMISSIONS FOR CNC-ROUTED CASES AND PORTABLES... JUST P.M. ME!

Post Reply