New to NES hacking... I have a question about AC adapters.

Includes Atari 2600, Nintendo 8-bit, Sega Master System, MSX and more!

Moderator:Moderators

mjmax
New to NES hacking... I have a question about AC adapters.

Post by mjmax » Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:29 pm

Bare with me, I'm new to electronics work in general. And this is my first post.

I'm working on an NES mod. I bought an NES on eBay and it came with this weird AC adapter. It has two cords coming out of it. A little research, and I discovered that it works with the Genesis and NES/SNES.

I took it apart (and I've never looked at the insides of one of these before) and found this:

http://i.imgur.com/FdQ1s.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Why is such a little circuit board mounted in such a big space? Is it because it gets really hot (it also has a "vent" on the back of the casing). I ask this because I want to mount the AC adapter into my case mod. And I don't want it catching on fire. D:

And what's with the messy adhesive? It looks like strands of it are all over the component. Is that epoxy (it's yellow and purple, if that means anything)? And if so, how do I remove it?

Sorry for the rapid fire questions. Thanks in advance, everyone.

Metallica Man X
Portablizer Extraordinaire

Re: New to NES hacking... I have a question about AC adapters.

Post by Metallica Man X » Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:05 pm

What an awfully small power rating...only 350 mA? That's not quite enough to power a NES properly....You might want to pick up a different 9v AC adapter. One that can supply at least 800 mA.

Although, if it does work don't worry about it getting too hot since it's hardly moving any current. The reason for such a large case is most likely because it's just a stock case. As for the glue, that's not a problem either, it' just there to keep things from rattling around, nothing important with the color of the glue. Just cut at it with something and try not to cut any board parts and you'll be fine.