help with a 2600p please!

Includes Atari 2600, Nintendo 8-bit, Sega Master System, MSX and more!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
phantom92opera
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:07 pm

help with a 2600p please!

Post by phantom92opera » Sun Jun 13, 2010 1:44 pm

http://benheck.com/book/support/Atari2600VidMod.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
I'm working on my 4" mobo and it appears different (resistor wise) to the other boards... I have a type A board but the resistors and diodes dont match up in the pictures on the bottom corner. how should I determine which ones to move.

Also, i am noob with atari (I've done genesis and 360 work thats about it) and was wondering if someone could just identify which chip is which for me on the board when holding it upright (there are 3 chips from top to bottom beneath the cart slot)

thanks for helping
phantom
Last edited by phantom92opera on Fri Jun 18, 2010 7:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
phantom92opera
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:07 pm

Help with an atari 2600p please

Post by phantom92opera » Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:50 pm

Traced the pins and followed the copmosite mod
http://benheck.com/book/support/Atari2600VidMod.htm
but I used 200 ohms as opposed to 193 for pin 7.

I get no video signal at all, i tried changing screens and nothing. I connected the audio in pins on the psone screen (9 and 10 on the right) to the audio resistor spot in the tutorial but got no audio, just a high pitched frequency. I used a multimeter all around the board and everything is getting voltage, but I am not getting a picture or sound? NOTE: I did bypass the 450 ohms to the +5v source but that should have no effect except for brightness?
[img]
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v454/ ... pinout.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;[/img]

Any and all tips are appreciated
Phantom

User avatar
phantom92opera
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:07 pm

Re: help with a 2600p please!

Post by phantom92opera » Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:51 am

bump bump

User avatar
phantom92opera
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:07 pm

Re: help with a 2600p please!

Post by phantom92opera » Fri Jun 25, 2010 6:32 pm

seriously i posted this forever ago, i could use some help.... the composite out on the system is barely 1v, which doesnt seem amplified enough to input into a psone screen... (this is with the book composite mod) . I worked backwards (instead of the version 2 mod) i used the circuit with the 22 ohm resistor and 2 1k ohm pots and the ctp.. please advise, if not I just have to get another 2600 i guess.

User avatar
bassmasta
Posts: 684
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 8:56 pm
Steam ID: randomguy737
Contact:

Re: help with a 2600p please!

Post by bassmasta » Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:47 pm

zeturi wrote:If you're getting 404'd when trying to use the links in stickies, try this tutorial to find that juicy info.

Post Reply