John (jdmlight)'s portable NES!

Includes Atari 2600, Nintendo 8-bit, Sega Master System, MSX and more!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
neverused
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:14 pm

Re: John (jdmlight)'s portable NES!

Post by neverused » Thu Mar 18, 2010 4:23 pm

I can dig up an extra slot and send it to you if need be, it's out of a FC Twin. I just need to figure out shippig costs to you, flat rate is about $5, though that might be overkill.

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: John (jdmlight)'s portable NES!

Post by jdmlight » Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:44 pm

neverused wrote:I can dig up an extra slot and send it to you if need be, it's out of a FC Twin. I just need to figure out shippig costs to you, flat rate is about $5, though that might be overkill.
PM'd. I'm interested.
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: John (jdmlight)'s portable NES!

Post by jdmlight » Sat Mar 20, 2010 9:35 pm

So I've acquired a Game Genie. Now I'm wondering if I should keep the Game Genie piece, or just use the connector. I never used a Game Genie, did it cause problems with some games? (i.e. if you start the NES and DON'T enter any codes, does it do anything?)
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

nevermind1534
Senior Member
Posts: 1977
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:36 pm
Steam ID: nevermind1534
Location: Detroit, MI
Contact:

Re: John (jdmlight)'s portable NES!

Post by nevermind1534 » Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:45 am

If you don't enter any codes, it leaves the game alone.
Kyo wrote:"does anyone here know how to fly a plane?"

"STAND BACK EVERYBODY, I HAVE A FAKE ID"

User avatar
Frizo
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:37 pm
Location: Farmington, CT, USA

Re: John (jdmlight)'s portable NES!

Post by Frizo » Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:06 am

nevermind1534 wrote:If you don't enter any codes, it leaves the game alone.
Yeah, I wouldn't use the Game Genie anyway, it causes damage to certain games when you input codes.
Projects at the moment:
The FrizNES (Portable NES) *ON HOLD, Need a new NES*

User avatar
themadhacker
Senior Member
Posts: 2670
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: ohio

Re: John (jdmlight)'s portable NES!

Post by themadhacker » Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:43 am

no it doesn't
rest in peace, Ronnie James Dio! \m/

nevermind1534
Senior Member
Posts: 1977
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:36 pm
Steam ID: nevermind1534
Location: Detroit, MI
Contact:

Re: John (jdmlight)'s portable NES!

Post by nevermind1534 » Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:47 am

I'd keep the game genie part, unless you need the extra space.
Kyo wrote:"does anyone here know how to fly a plane?"

"STAND BACK EVERYBODY, I HAVE A FAKE ID"

User avatar
themadhacker
Senior Member
Posts: 2670
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: ohio

Re: John (jdmlight)'s portable NES!

Post by themadhacker » Sun Mar 21, 2010 10:03 am

in my tinypnes (yeah...need to finish it) I'm having the game genie included in it.
rest in peace, Ronnie James Dio! \m/

wallydawg
Senior Member
Posts: 2233
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:28 am
Location: Sorry Illinois
Contact:

Re: John (jdmlight)'s portable NES!

Post by wallydawg » Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:24 pm

Frizo wrote:
nevermind1534 wrote:If you don't enter any codes, it leaves the game alone.
Yeah, I wouldn't use the Game Genie anyway, it causes damage to certain games when you input codes.
The only thing it would "damage" is corrupting a save file so that really wouldn't matter if the game genie is hardwired into the system or not.
Image

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: John (jdmlight)'s portable NES!

Post by jdmlight » Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:40 pm

wallydawg wrote:
Frizo wrote:
nevermind1534 wrote:If you don't enter any codes, it leaves the game alone.
Yeah, I wouldn't use the Game Genie anyway, it causes damage to certain games when you input codes.
The only thing it would "damage" is corrupting a save file so that really wouldn't matter if the game genie is hardwired into the system or not.
And considering the batteries are dead in almost all of my NES carts, that doesn't matter either. :P

I'm hoping to find a vendor of that goofy screwdriver at MGC... (easier than ordering it on ebay)

I'll go ahead and include the Game Genie part in my portable. The way I had it laid out last night lends itself very nicely to using the Game Genie piece.
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

Quetzalcoatlus
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 2:57 pm

Re: John (jdmlight)'s portable NES!

Post by Quetzalcoatlus » Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:36 pm

WhatULive4 wrote:Using the floppy drive connector isn't necessarily recommended. I think Ben is the only one who has made it work successfully (many others have tried). Apparently it is really hard to get it to line up correctly and the spacing isn't perfect. I'd also recommend the Game Genie.
I used floppy drive connectors for the cartridge slots on both my first and third NESp's. Getting the two connectors glued together such that they'll line up properly is a little hard, but plugging a cartridge board into them while you glue them and checking how everything lines up helps a lot.

Post Reply