Prototype Atari PCB made!

Includes Atari 2600, Nintendo 8-bit, Sega Master System, MSX and more!

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
Electric Rain
Senior Member
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:39 pm
PSN Username: Denki_no_Ame
Location: What's it to you? Stalker...
Contact:

Post by Electric Rain » Sun May 14, 2006 12:47 am

I wish I had the money to get my PCB manufactured... it's even smaller than Gannon's, and has more features... *sigh* Then everybody would want to give me money for my boards. :P
Image

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Sun May 14, 2006 1:14 am

What's the size?
IIRC (don't have one on me), mine is in the area of 2.25"x2.5", maybe a bit bigger. I know it could fit in an atari cart though.

User avatar
dankicksass
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by dankicksass » Sun May 14, 2006 9:33 am

Pardon me for being dumb, but where's the cart slot go on your Atari board, Gannon?
I don't like forum signatures.

jeroen
Senior Member
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:42 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by jeroen » Sun May 14, 2006 9:46 am

gannon wrote:Cartridge slot? Euhm.......... :oops:

User avatar
SpongeBuell
Senior Member
Posts: 5190
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 10:52 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Post by SpongeBuell » Sun May 14, 2006 11:43 am

I think you solder that on separately with a ribbon cable, which is much more flexible when it comes to the actual portable (you can have the board in the normal spot, and the cart can go anywhere)
Life of Brian wrote:
RYW wrote:RYW:

Rare
Yellow
Weasel
I'll be honest with you - I would have never guessed that.

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Sun May 14, 2006 3:39 pm

On the first version it was soldered on with a ribbon cable, on the second version (the smaller one of the 2) it could be soldered straight to the board.
I don't have a pic on me, but I have a pic of the silk screen.
Image

User avatar
A_Username
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 5:00 pm
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Contact:

Post by A_Username » Fri Jun 23, 2006 6:28 am

gannon wrote:Umm... aren't the TIA and the Stella the same chip?
Anyways, the riot is a standard 6532 and the 6507 is standard too. Only custom chip in the Atari is the TIA.
Yeah, I had a bad 6507 in my 2600; they are redily availible on the internet for like $5. Or that's how much I got mine for anyway.

User avatar
Klefmung
Senior Member
Posts: 1517
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 12:23 am
Location: Crystal palace
Contact:

Post by Klefmung » Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:17 pm

The one I bought off of ya has joystick ports and a cartridge slot. >_> I just need a dang Stella chip!
gannon wrote:hmm... *ponders about power abuse* :P
benheck wrote:Wow, guess I should have searched my own forums! Oh wait, I don't have to since the rules don't apply to me ;)

User avatar
usbcd36
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Inside Samus's arm cannon [gulp]___ Gender: Male

Post by usbcd36 » Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:57 pm

Buy the cheapest Atari you can find (I think even the late Juniors have Stellas…). As long as it's not a remake one, you should be able to extract any and all necessary parts.

User avatar
A.J. Franzman
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 11:38 pm
Location: La-La Land
Contact:

Post by A.J. Franzman » Fri Jun 23, 2006 5:18 pm

usbcd36 wrote:Buy the cheapest Atari you can find (I think even the late Juniors have Stellas…). As long as it's not a remake one, you should be able to extract any and all necessary parts.
Some Juniors have a single-chip implementation, but they're apparently rather rare. I'd like to get one or two of them!
Last edited by A.J. Franzman on Fri Jun 23, 2006 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mum! Dad! Don't touch it! It's EEE-VIL!

WTD: Donated dead Atari 2600 consoles, mobos, or their ICs.
2600 NTSC cartridges and manuals.
Click for TRADE/SELL and WANTED lists.

User avatar
gamemasterAS
Senior Member
Posts: 3309
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:30 pm
Steam ID: lolz1337face
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by gamemasterAS » Fri Jun 23, 2006 5:24 pm

Nice gannon.
.

User avatar
Klefmung
Senior Member
Posts: 1517
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 12:23 am
Location: Crystal palace
Contact:

Post by Klefmung » Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:34 pm

Gannon, is there a video mod built in on it? Or do I have to video mod it myself? In which case, wouldn't I have to come up with it myself? Because there are none done for it. >_>
gannon wrote:hmm... *ponders about power abuse* :P
benheck wrote:Wow, guess I should have searched my own forums! Oh wait, I don't have to since the rules don't apply to me ;)

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:06 pm

Ben's newest video mod is integrated.
6 Pin header pinout:
1 Select
2 Reset
3 TV
4 Left Skill
5 Right Skill
6 Ground

User avatar
Klefmung
Senior Member
Posts: 1517
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 12:23 am
Location: Crystal palace
Contact:

Post by Klefmung » Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:23 am

Lemme get this straight. I should hook up select to the ground on an always off or always on momentary switch to the ground? And I know the reset switch, I should use an always on momentary switch with the grount, correct?
And should I just pit each skill with a
SPST towards ground? And obviously, TV towards the video in?
And audio comes straight off the Stella, correct?
gannon wrote:hmm... *ponders about power abuse* :P
benheck wrote:Wow, guess I should have searched my own forums! Oh wait, I don't have to since the rules don't apply to me ;)

User avatar
A.J. Franzman
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 11:38 pm
Location: La-La Land
Contact:

Post by A.J. Franzman » Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:35 am

Klefmung wrote:Lemme get this straight. I should hook up select to the ground on an always off or always on momentary switch to the ground? And I know the reset switch, I should use an always on momentary switch with the grount, correct?
First, you need to get the terminology straight. Momentary xPST switches are called "normally" on or "normally" off, not "always" on or off. If it was "always", you'd be talking about a piece of wire, not a switch.

Second, for the Select and Reset switches, they need to be momentary SPST normally off, connected between the input signal track (or header pin, in this instance) and ground.
Mum! Dad! Don't touch it! It's EEE-VIL!

WTD: Donated dead Atari 2600 consoles, mobos, or their ICs.
2600 NTSC cartridges and manuals.
Click for TRADE/SELL and WANTED lists.

Locked