Portable NES with AV power questions

Includes Atari 2600, Nintendo 8-bit, Sega Master System, MSX and more!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Retromaster
Portablizer
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: florida- the land of old people
Contact:

Portable NES with AV power questions

Post by Retromaster » Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:44 pm

I am working on building a hand-built NES portable from BenHeck's book
and I am wondering about adding custom AV Jacks to plug into a TV to play on the big screen. Is this possible and how could it be accomplished?

User avatar
schmellyfart
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 1150
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 8:29 pm
Steam ID: schmellyfart
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Contact:

Post by schmellyfart » Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:57 am

Yes. Just solder the audio and video wires to the av plugs. And dont forget to ground the av plugs.

User avatar
Retromaster
Portablizer
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: florida- the land of old people
Contact:

thanks

Post by Retromaster » Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:01 am

Thankyou, I will get to hacking the RF modulator ports immediately.

csurban
Portablizer
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 11:10 pm
Location: The Sonoran Desert
Contact:

Post by csurban » Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:54 pm

remember to amplify the video signal!
nope... can't think of anything I could possibly want to put in my Signature Block...

User avatar
Retromaster
Portablizer
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: florida- the land of old people
Contact:

quick question

Post by Retromaster » Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:40 pm

Now would it split the data flowing to the PS1 screen with the TV, or, which might be worse off, divert the data to only the PS1 screen or the TV?

User avatar
Retromaster
Portablizer
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: florida- the land of old people
Contact:

here's what I mean

Post by Retromaster » Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:53 pm

here's what I mean:

the ports where the RF box used to be are power and reset buttons,
+5 volts, audio and video out.
I will connect the PS1 screen wires to audio and video out and the other wires to whatever they go to. Where the PS1 screen wires are connected, I will try to connect the AV cable ports. I don't know if this will divert the data to only the screen, the TV, or both(which is wanted)

User avatar
TheOnlyOneHeFears
Portablizer
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:53 am
Location: Here be Dragons!

Post by TheOnlyOneHeFears » Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:55 pm

I could well be wrong, but if you connect the PS1 screen wires, and the AV output ports in parallel, the signal should be split between the two junctions, as it were, and output the picture on both the PS1 screen and the TV.
However, I'm not sure about this, so a more knowledgeable person may well know better :P
Image

Post Reply