help plz...

Includes Atari 2600, Nintendo 8-bit, Sega Master System, MSX and more!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
csurban
Portablizer
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 11:10 pm
Location: The Sonoran Desert
Contact:

help plz...

Post by csurban » Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:01 pm

I just got my NOAC and am portabalizing it. I followed everyone elses instructions on how to hook it up but I can't make it work. The biggest problem I have is that my NOAC has 13 contacts instead of 12. I looks like the one in this picture...
Image
after looking at it, I found that the contacts are labled and there is a contact before the first one labled "3.3v" (figure one). I then fiddled with the switch (figure 2) and found that the "3.3v" line becomes ground on one setting and not ground on the other one. Also there is a wire (figure 3) connecting a contact to this switch which im guessing controls the boot from cartridge or ROM. When fiddleing with the 3.3v line and the ground, I can make the screen camo green, blue, and white so I'm guessing the NOAC is not fried. Can anyone who has a similer model help me with what they did?
nope... can't think of anything I could possibly want to put in my Signature Block...

User avatar
CronoTriggerfan
Moderator
Posts: 4131
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:07 pm
Location: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Contact:

Post by CronoTriggerfan » Sun Sep 10, 2006 9:33 pm

The pinouts for the 13 pin NOAC are as follows:

1. +3.3v for unknown
2. +5v power, P1/P2 +5v (White)
3. Composite video
4. Audio
5. Ground, P1/P2 ground (Brown)
6. Reset
7. P2 purple for lightgun
8. P2 blue for lightgun
9. P1/P2 latch (Orange)
10. P1 data (Yellow)
11. P2 data (Yellow)
12. P1 clock (Red)
13. P2 clock (Red)

The numbering goes as follows: If you are looking at the top of the NOAC with the cartridge slot on the left side, pin 1 starts at the bottom, and pin 13 is at the top. Good luck! :D

CTFan
Image

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Post by ShockSlayer » Sun Sep 10, 2006 9:34 pm

Ahh, yes. CTFan saved the day for me just now. Now to go get a new NOAC....
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

csurban
Portablizer
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 11:10 pm
Location: The Sonoran Desert
Contact:

Post by csurban » Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:05 pm

Now this is the setup I am using and it dosen't work. The screen flickers whenever I turn it on but thats it. How can I know if it is fried or not?
nope... can't think of anything I could possibly want to put in my Signature Block...

User avatar
CronoTriggerfan
Moderator
Posts: 4131
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:07 pm
Location: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Contact:

Post by CronoTriggerfan » Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:14 pm

Try wiring it back up to the original ribbon cable and hooking it up to the TV. Are you running it off a portable screen right now, or a TV?

CTFan
Image

User avatar
G-force
Moderator
Posts: 3609
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 1:43 pm
Location: Sweet home Indiana
Contact:

Post by G-force » Tue Sep 19, 2006 2:10 am

CronoTriggerfan wrote:The pinouts for the 13 pin NOAC are as follows:

1. +3.3v for unknown
2. +5v power, P1/P2 +5v (White)
3. Composite video
4. Audio
5. Ground, P1/P2 ground (Brown)
6. Reset
7. P2 purple for lightgun
8. P2 blue for lightgun
9. P1/P2 latch (Orange)
10. P1 data (Yellow)
11. P2 data (Yellow)
12. P1 clock (Red)
13. P2 clock (Red)

The numbering goes as follows: If you are looking at the top of the NOAC with the cartridge slot on the left side, pin 1 starts at the bottom, and pin 13 is at the top. Good luck! :D

CTFan
Just a little correction here, (just got a 13 pin NOAC so I was able to mess with it) pin 1 is actually for disabling the built-in games. You connect +5v to it and *poof* no built-in games and a famicom cart is playing (the same as connecting +5V and pin 31). Thats what that switch circled "2" in the first picture does.
If you stick a family converter on it (wired or just stuck in the 60 pin connector) this pin won't do anything, since the family converter has these connections by default.

User avatar
Life of Brian
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by Life of Brian » Tue Sep 19, 2006 4:34 am

Yeah, I was confused a while back about the thirteen pins too:
http://benheck.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=9600

But it's all good now :D
dragonhead wrote:sweet. ive spent a third of my life on benheck!
Image

Post Reply