Commodore 64 PDA?

Includes Atari 2600, Nintendo 8-bit, Sega Master System, MSX and more!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
typamc95
Senior Member
Posts: 784
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: The bun is in your mind.
Contact:

Commodore 64 PDA?

Post by typamc95 » Sat Aug 26, 2006 3:12 pm

Could you create a commador 64 pda with these features:

C64 On a chip with Externel 10 Megs of Ram
Thumb pad key board
1 gig of memory.
Docking center for putting basic code,roms,ect on to the memory.
Wifi Internet modem
8 Derection D pad and anolog thumb button.
128 3d graffix card.
Mouse emulation using contols.
Sterio sound/volume.
2.5 intec screen.
Doubles as wireless 4 in 1 controller,monitor,keyboard, and mouse for your computer.

Possible?
Image
Skyone wrote:
typamc95 wrote:There called Roto-disc.
http://www.mariowiki.com/Roto-Disc
Game, set, match!

User avatar
Sparkfist
Forum Administrator
Posts: 6754
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 7:12 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Sparkfist » Sat Aug 26, 2006 5:27 pm

Not with a Commodore 64. First the Commodore only has 64KB of ram (2MB if it's the DTV 2), and really I don't think the sytem could read a directory of over 128GB, not to mention you'd never need that kind of space to begin with.

Secondly if you're going to made a PDA and stick to the idea that you want the COAC as part of it. You're going to have to have a switch mode on it to go from whatever you have planned to the Commodre.

If you really want to know what the Commodore64 is capible look at IDE64, they made peripheals for the Commodore 64.
vskid wrote:Nerd = likes school, does all their homework, dies if they don't get 100% on every assignment
Geek = likes technology, dies if the power goes out and his UPS dies too

I am a geek.

User avatar
typamc95
Senior Member
Posts: 784
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: The bun is in your mind.
Contact:

Post by typamc95 » Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:12 pm

C64 On a chip {with its 2 megs of ram}
A D-pad and action button
Custom thumbpad made to look like the commadore keyboard.
Wifi
Usb Interface
30 MB of Memory
Last edited by typamc95 on Mon Sep 04, 2006 9:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Skyone wrote:
typamc95 wrote:There called Roto-disc.
http://www.mariowiki.com/Roto-Disc
Game, set, match!

User avatar
Indigno
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:31 pm
Contact:

Post by Indigno » Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:56 pm

It sounds like it would be a blackberry format with the mini keyboard instead of a touchscreen.
Getting a tan while everyone else is in a blizzard... >.<

User avatar
blackbox_dev
Senior Member
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: Formerly known as iam7805

Re: Commodore 64 PDA?

Post by blackbox_dev » Sun Sep 03, 2006 7:32 pm

typamc95 wrote:Possible?
No.
I'd imagine right now you wish you were a cuttlefish...

User avatar
MM007
Moderator
Posts: 1175
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 6:01 pm
Location: In the wilds of suburbia...
Contact:

Post by MM007 » Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:27 pm

Sparkfist wrote:I don't think the sytem could read a directory of over 128GB, not to mention you'd never need that kind of space to begin with.
Do you mean 128 MB?

Because even with Windows 95, you had trouble with 2.1 GB+, and later OSes had trouble with 137 GB+.
Warranty-Voiding fun!

Image

User avatar
Metroid fan
Senior Member
Posts: 2158
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 2:36 pm
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Contact:

Post by Metroid fan » Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:43 pm

Yeah seriously that's way to much memory storage for it you would never need so much for a commadore 64...

vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Post by vb_master » Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:36 am

MM007 wrote:137 GB+.
LBA support.

JackFrost22
Sir Posts-alot
Posts: 4186
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 4:10 pm

Post by JackFrost22 » Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:32 am

Are you running things other than the C64 on this, why would you need wifi?

User avatar
Sparkfist
Forum Administrator
Posts: 6754
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 7:12 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Sparkfist » Sun Oct 29, 2006 10:05 am

Jack I know you're not here often anymore, but why'd you bring up a thread that's over a month old?
vskid wrote:Nerd = likes school, does all their homework, dies if they don't get 100% on every assignment
Geek = likes technology, dies if the power goes out and his UPS dies too

I am a geek.

User avatar
josh
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 9:59 am
Location: Birmingham, Al

Post by josh » Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:46 pm

Why not just buy a palmpilot and install a c64 emulater because otherwise its NOT VERY EASY TO DO (Borderline Impossible)

User avatar
typamc95
Senior Member
Posts: 784
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: The bun is in your mind.
Contact:

Post by typamc95 » Fri Dec 01, 2006 9:53 pm

Image
Skyone wrote:
typamc95 wrote:There called Roto-disc.
http://www.mariowiki.com/Roto-Disc
Game, set, match!

User avatar
DK
Posts: 1107
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 4:00 am
Location: None of your business pedo nerds

Post by DK » Fri Dec 29, 2006 5:34 am

Josh, remember what Ben says, emulation is like mast..... :P
Image

Post Reply