Question about xbox 360

Discuss LEGAL mods for your game systems, and turning them into portables!

Moderator: Moderators

bellyum
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 9:54 am

Question about xbox 360

Post by bellyum » Wed Jun 16, 2010 10:20 am

Hi, i am new to these forums (obviously) and i was admiring all the xbox 360 laptops, when i noticed one major oddity. I would guess that the whole point to making a xbox 360 laptop is so that it is portable, but all of the ones i see run off of the power brick ar a pc power supply. I am wondering why nobody has adapted a laptop battery to the xbox 360? I would assume it is possible since i have seen one use a pc power supply. Maybe i am missing something.

did someone make this and i just haven't seen it? if so, link please :D

is it just not possible? if thats the case, why not? (in layman's terms plz)

sorry for the hassle, but im really interested in this.

User avatar
bassmasta
Posts: 684
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 8:56 pm
Steam ID: randomguy737
Contact:

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by bassmasta » Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:02 am

Sure, its possible. But here's the battery you're gonna need.
Image
zeturi wrote:If you're getting 404'd when trying to use the links in stickies, try this tutorial to find that juicy info.

bellyum
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 9:54 am

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by bellyum » Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:33 am

bassmasta wrote:Sure, its possible. But here's the battery you're gonna need.
Image
lol. is the 360 really that much of a power hog?

User avatar
bassmasta
Posts: 684
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 8:56 pm
Steam ID: randomguy737
Contact:

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by bassmasta » Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:55 am

Have you ever seen a gaming laptop? They weigh 8+ lbs, and get like 15 minutes off the plug.
An Xbox laptop is heavier, and uses more power.
zeturi wrote:If you're getting 404'd when trying to use the links in stickies, try this tutorial to find that juicy info.

User avatar
samjc3
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 8:05 pm
Steam ID: samjc3
Location: burning and pillaging!!

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by samjc3 » Wed Jun 16, 2010 12:25 pm

ya know, with the new 360, it just might be pheasible. if the power brick is 135 watt, that means it probably draws like 100watts, which is just about half the original (launch model, 203 watt psu)

however, you would still need a very large battery, say, 30Ah 14.8v.
AfroLH wrote:
HotDog-Cart wrote: Also, the codename stuff adds a little bit of sexyness, in my eyes.
Yeah well Alcohol adds a little bit of sexyness in my eyes, but I dont drink it all the time. :wink:
SpongeBuell wrote:As proof, I offer this picture of a monkey on my head.

User avatar
bassmasta
Posts: 684
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 8:56 pm
Steam ID: randomguy737
Contact:

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by bassmasta » Wed Jun 16, 2010 12:38 pm

samjc3 wrote:ya know, with the new 360, it just might be pheasible. if the power brick is 135 watt, that means it probably draws like 100watts, which is just about half the original (launch model, 203 watt psu)

however, you would still need a very large battery, say, 30Ah 14.8v.
And a damn efficient regulator.

Edit: I looked at a 30Ah 14.8v on batteryspace, and to anyone who is looking at this, it won't work. Max discharge rate of 7A.
zeturi wrote:If you're getting 404'd when trying to use the links in stickies, try this tutorial to find that juicy info.

User avatar
samjc3
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 8:05 pm
Steam ID: samjc3
Location: burning and pillaging!!

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by samjc3 » Wed Jun 16, 2010 12:42 pm

bassmasta wrote:
samjc3 wrote:ya know, with the new 360, it just might be pheasible. if the power brick is 135 watt, that means it probably draws like 100watts, which is just about half the original (launch model, 203 watt psu)

however, you would still need a very large battery, say, 30Ah 14.8v.
And a damn efficient regulator.

Edit: I looked at a 30Ah 14.8v on batteryspace, and to anyone who is looking at this, it won't work. Max discharge rate of 7A.
you dont have to use those exact batteries. ive seen some that had 20Ah discharge rate. or you could just wire em in multi series.
AfroLH wrote:
HotDog-Cart wrote: Also, the codename stuff adds a little bit of sexyness, in my eyes.
Yeah well Alcohol adds a little bit of sexyness in my eyes, but I dont drink it all the time. :wink:
SpongeBuell wrote:As proof, I offer this picture of a monkey on my head.

User avatar
collinE
Posts: 891
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:07 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Contact:

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by collinE » Wed Jun 16, 2010 1:51 pm

Actually, the Jasper uses closer to 100w. I'm waiting to see what the new 360 uses. Also, the norm for a monitor is 20-30w, so tack that onto the total. I'm sure there'd be room enough in the case with this new motherboard. I've been wanting to try battery power for a while now, but don't have the funding to attempt it.
It takes a big man to cry, but it takes a bigger man to laugh at that man.

Ridonkulous

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by vskid » Wed Jun 16, 2010 2:18 pm

Money and space. Those are the reasons 360 laptops don't have batteries. It is 100% possible, but it would cost a lot and take up a good amount of space for it to last even an hour on batteries.
Now if someone really needed to power a 360 laptop (or a 360 and separate LCD), I would recommend one of these (and a charger) and a 200w inverter. For around $250, you would have 5+ hours of playing time. It'll weigh a ton and not be very efficient (12v DC to 120v AC to 12v DC), but that's probably the cheapest you can get for that kind of playing time. It would be even better if you got a 12v regulator to power the 360 and LCD directly from the battery.
Image

User avatar
HotDog-Cart
Portablizer
Posts: 3804
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 12:07 pm
PSN Username: Lythinca
Steam ID: scythe_king
Location: Your IP Address, Connecting...
Contact:

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by HotDog-Cart » Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:08 pm

bassmasta wrote:Sure, its possible. But here's the battery you're gonna need.
Image
Atleast its maintenance free!
Image

User avatar
samjc3
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 8:05 pm
Steam ID: samjc3
Location: burning and pillaging!!

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by samjc3 » Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:41 pm

vskid wrote:Money and space. Those are the reasons 360 laptops don't have batteries. It is 100% possible, but it would cost a lot and take up a good amount of space for it to last even an hour on batteries.
Now if someone really needed to power a 360 laptop (or a 360 and separate LCD), I would recommend one of these (and a charger) and a 200w inverter. For around $250, you would have 5+ hours of playing time. It'll weigh a ton and not be very efficient (12v DC to 120v AC to 12v DC), but that's probably the cheapest you can get for that kind of playing time. It would be even better if you got a 12v regulator to power the 360 and LCD directly from the battery.
incorrect, mah boi.
theres no need to step your 12vdc up to 125vac and back to 12vdc. just run it into a picoPSU (a PW-220-v would work) and wire that straight to the xbox. and there are monitors out there that use 12v in instead of 125vac. (hyvision is a brand that has several like that. hard to find, though). much more efficient.
AfroLH wrote:
HotDog-Cart wrote: Also, the codename stuff adds a little bit of sexyness, in my eyes.
Yeah well Alcohol adds a little bit of sexyness in my eyes, but I dont drink it all the time. :wink:
SpongeBuell wrote:As proof, I offer this picture of a monkey on my head.

User avatar
humakabula1
Posts: 728
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 3:11 am
360 GamerTag: H1writer
Location: Diggi Down Under

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by humakabula1 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 2:40 am

car batteries are the wrong type of battery (i believe)
Wedgix (custom linux distro): 20% complete

Haunted360
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:22 am
PSN Username: Haunted360
360 GamerTag: Haunted 360
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by Haunted360 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:37 am

I think something like this will do the trick :)

Image

User avatar
samjc3
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 8:05 pm
Steam ID: samjc3
Location: burning and pillaging!!

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by samjc3 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:03 pm

humakabula1 wrote:car batteries are the wrong type of battery (i believe)
nope

SLA isnt "wrong". just big and heavy. but its comparatively cheap. a li-po pack equivalent to a car battery would cost upwards of a few thousand dollars.
AfroLH wrote:
HotDog-Cart wrote: Also, the codename stuff adds a little bit of sexyness, in my eyes.
Yeah well Alcohol adds a little bit of sexyness in my eyes, but I dont drink it all the time. :wink:
SpongeBuell wrote:As proof, I offer this picture of a monkey on my head.

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Re: Question about xbox 360

Post by vskid » Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:38 pm

samjc3 wrote:incorrect, mah boi.
theres no need to step your 12vdc up to 125vac and back to 12vdc. just run it into a picoPSU (a PW-220-v would work) and wire that straight to the xbox. and there are monitors out there that use 12v in instead of 125vac. (hyvision is a brand that has several like that. hard to find, though). much more efficient.
That's why I added the part about a 12v regulator. :wink: A picoPSU probably wouldn't be ideal, I don't know if they can even output enough to the 12v line, at least the wide input ones. I'm sure I've seen just-over-12v to 12v regulators, but I can't remember where.
Image

Post Reply