Custom laptop cooler

Talk about your favorite PC games, Steam and building awesome custom rigs!

Moderator:Moderators

daboosh
Custom laptop cooler

Post by daboosh » Sun Sep 18, 2011 8:13 pm

Hey all! Well, I recently purchased a Clevo P170HM, top of the line, nvidia 580M GTX video card, all the bells and whistles. With a 2 year old son and another baby on the way, my office is being converted to a bedroom for the new baby, hence I am now using a laptop instead of a desktop.

That sad, gaming is now done on the couch. However I haven't found any decent laptop coolers that are made for good cooling on your lap. Everything is oriented for desks.

I am a CNC programmer/Mechanical Designer and have at my disposal several industrial machines for processing sheet metal. 3 turret punch presses, a Mitsubishi industrial laser, an Amada Pulsar, and a Trumpf 6000L laser/punch combo. So I've decided to make my own laptop cooler out of 0.060" aluminum.

It's Sunday night and I've already sketched out a design. At work tomorrow I will whip up a model in Solidworks.

So the design is all taken care of. The difficulty lies in powering the fans. I am no electrical engineer and have only basic understanding of electrical components. Ultimately, I want to power the fans via USB. If I am not mistaken, USB only provides 5V, is that correct? If so, that really limits my choice of fans, correct?

I would like to use either these 8mm fans: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6811999199" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Or these 120mm fans: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6835103091" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Am I correct in assuming that once I know how many fans USB will support it is simply a matter of splicing the wires together correctly and then plugging in the USB cable to my laptop?

If anyone can help me out and figure out how many and which fans power over USB will support, I will be very grateful.

jaqiefox