Plugging in Two Mice

Talk about your favorite PC games, Steam and building awesome custom rigs!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Super Cameraman
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:25 pm

Plugging in Two Mice

Post by Super Cameraman » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:11 pm

Hey all, long time no post, but I have a question I'm sure someone here could help me out with.

I'm building a MAME cabinet and I have a trackball and a DIY Spinner I'd like to install. Both are PS/2 mice. Can I somehow plug both in together? I know you can have two USB mice at once, but I've never tried PS/2 as there's only one PS/2 port on a computer.

Can I just splice the wires together? Or do I need some kind of special adapter?

(I don't need two cursors, both mice control the same cursor.)
If you're looking at this post and it was made before 2008, just ignore it.

User avatar
GeckoLink
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:56 am

Re: Plugging in Two Mice

Post by GeckoLink » Tue Jul 12, 2011 4:15 pm

welll the cheepy answer would be to use two ps2 to usb convertors witch come with most mice
Image

tom61
Senior Member
Posts: 1517
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 6:51 pm

Re: Plugging in Two Mice

Post by tom61 » Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:29 pm

See if either is compatible with either a passive (pin-only) PS/2 to USB (very few are) or PS/2 to Serial (common on older ball mice), then all you need is a really cheap adapter. Serial compatible mice may have a small switch on the bottom to switch between modes, but you're going to have to Google to see if a newer one is compatible with USB directly. I don't think you can Y them off the same port, but using serial or USB would work.

If neither has compatibility with passive adapters, you'll need a PS/2 mouse and keyboard converter (with circuitry inside). Here's a cheap one.

User avatar
Super Cameraman
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:25 pm

Re: Plugging in Two Mice

Post by Super Cameraman » Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:57 pm

The trackball has a USB cable, as well as PS/2, but last time I tried it, it the computer didn't recognize it... I tried it yesterday and it works perfectly! Strange. But now I have a trackball and a spinner in my arcade control board and I couldn't be happier.

Thanks for the tips anyway!
If you're looking at this post and it was made before 2008, just ignore it.

Haunted360
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:22 am
PSN Username: Haunted360
360 GamerTag: Haunted 360
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Plugging in Two Mice

Post by Haunted360 » Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:11 pm

I think you need a microcontroller to take 2 inputs off of 1 cable.

But like you said, it works...

User avatar
Reaper P7
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 4:28 am
PSN Username: Haha... Yea Right
360 GamerTag: Subscription? Nah.
Steam ID: Refer to email to add me.
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Re: Plugging in Two Mice

Post by Reaper P7 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:20 pm

Im not sure if I read it right, but this software lets mice become switched on the fply by simply taking control with the left mouse button. I've seen it in use, and it seems to be fairly stable and easy to use.
http://www.dicolab.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Post Reply