Getting Windows 7 to run 4:3 and 16:9 resolutions

Talk about your favorite PC games, Steam and building awesome custom rigs!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Aguiluz
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:58 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Getting Windows 7 to run 4:3 and 16:9 resolutions

Post by Aguiluz » Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:39 pm

So, I got a 1080p (1920x1080) monitor hooked up using VGA to my laptop running a legit copy of Windows 7 Ultimate. When I was using a torrented copy of XP, I could select many resolutions, from the humble 640x480, to 1280x720 then ranging up to 1920x1080 with all sorts of 4:3 and 16:9 resolutions in between. 1280x720 proved very useful at running games on this laptop. Warzone 2100 was locked at 60FPS and ran great, for example.

Now, I can only select 1920x1080, 1680x1050, 1600x1200, 1440,x900, 1280x1024, 1152x864, 1024x768 and 800x600.

While 800x600, 1024x768 and 1920x1080 are resulutions I would like to keep, the rest just don't scale properly on the monitor.

And when I force 720p on the WZ2100's console, it crashes with an Unsupported Resolution error.

So, my card is an ATI Radeon x1200 (as recognized by XP and 7) and I'm really one step close to getting a pliers and pulling the EDID pin out. But I would ask if there are some hacks/drivers that I can use first.

I've installed the CD included with my monitor and tried PowerStrip without success.
Image

User avatar
bicostp
Moderator
Posts: 10491
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:47 pm
Steam ID: bicostp
Location: Spamalot
Contact:

Re: Getting Windows 7 to run 4:3 and 16:9 resolutions

Post by bicostp » Mon Apr 26, 2010 8:12 pm

Are you running it with ATI's drivers or the standard driver that came with Windows?

I don't have that problem with my Win7 desktop, but I have an Nvidia card and their newest stable drivers.

User avatar
Aguiluz
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:58 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Getting Windows 7 to run 4:3 and 16:9 resolutions

Post by Aguiluz » Thu Apr 29, 2010 6:55 am

I finally "bravened up" and after a few google searches, I grabbed a pair of pliers and ripped out the EDID pin.

720p is enabled! Yay!

1080p got disabled though. :? It only now goes up to 1600x1200 which is not enough..

EDIT: Scratch that, I got 1080p enabled through unticking the "hide modes this monitor can't display" thing.
Image

Post Reply