Really good VB.net tutorial?

Talk about your favorite PC games, Steam and building awesome custom rigs!

Moderator:Moderators

Electric Rain
PSN Username:Denki_no_Ame
Really good VB.net tutorial?

Post by Electric Rain » Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:24 pm

The majority of this post is just rambling. You don't have to read it at all if you don't want to. My main question is simply "Where can I find a good VB.net tutorial?" I would like to hear your feedback on my project detailed in the lower half of my rambling, though. :P

[rambling]

I'm a webmaster, so I started out learning HTML and a little later CSS once I finally realized how awesome it was... now I'm quite well versed in those. Then I started learning Javascript, since I needed to add some dynamic elements to my sites. I wouldn't consider myself a pro, but I know my way around Javascript pretty well now, and I can freehand just about everything. Then, I needed to learn PHP and MySQL for the purposes of databases and server-side processing. This has been really fun for me, although it's pretty hard... The BenHeck Chat script that I wrote is one of the more sophisticated PHP scripts I've written (which is still relatively simple), and I've only created simple MySQL databases as well. I'm still a novice with these languages, but I'm slowly learning more about them as I need to.

Point: Do you notice a pattern? These are all web scripting/markup languages; and I've had to learn them all out of necessity. Just once, I'd like to learn something because I want to learn it and not because I have to. :lol: I'm getting sick of websites, and I want to be able to write desktop applications. I originally wanted to start learning C++, but then I saw how friggin' hard it was, and decided maybe I'd start with Visual Basic as my first true "programming language" instead... just to get my foot in the door.