VGA output via fpga

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:00 am

Image
Image

User avatar
Link83
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 7:08 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Link83 » Wed Sep 21, 2011 9:32 pm

Wow that looks fantastic marshallh! :D

I have a few questions if you dont mind:-
- Is the PCB designed to fit in in a standard N64 case, and if so where?
- Would component YPbPr output be possible as well as RGBHV?
- Any chance it can support PAL 50Hz games? (Unlikely I know)
- Do you plan to sell these, and if so do you have any idea on a price?

...between this project and the 64drive you must be really busy at the moment!

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Thu Sep 22, 2011 12:32 am

Yes
At additional cost and harder to fit PCB
Most likely, depends on how the buffering ends up working
Yes
Image

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Thu Sep 29, 2011 10:30 pm

Image
Image
Image

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by jdmlight » Sat Oct 01, 2011 1:19 pm

marshallh wrote:PICTURES?!?
I love how it looks like it was supposed to be there all along. :thumbsup:

What's the switch for?
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

User avatar
blaze3927
Portablizer
Posts: 1114
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:14 am
360 GamerTag: notjames
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by blaze3927 » Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:48 am

JUST TAKE MY GODAMN MONEY
Australian Kaillera server
[url]hhttp://i56.tinypic.com/ncb0wi.gif[/url]

User avatar
sanni
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 5:52 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by sanni » Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:00 pm

I second that. :D

User avatar
Gruso
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 1:18 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Gruso » Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:51 pm

Amazing. If this ends up supporting PAL 50, you may also take my money.

MockyLock
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:14 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by MockyLock » Sun Oct 30, 2011 4:23 am

As Gruso said, if it works for PAL N64, you should get my money too :)

OzOnE
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:32 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by OzOnE » Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:27 pm

Damn it, Marshall - that is one nice looking PCB!

I would gladly buy one of these, please. :P It even has a proper Analog Devices DAC chip and 8MB? SDRAM on it. mmmm

I love stuff like this because it shows some of the true potential of the console. (I can't believe they went with compoSH1Te video on PAL N64's.)

btw, have you thought about overclocking the RCP with this board attached? The usual problem with overclocking is that it screws up the NTSC / PAL output, but I'm sure the faster timings can be fixed on your board, or even a benefit? (it also speeds up the sound, but this could be fixed with an on-the-fly patch via the 64drive, no?)

Many things to mess with here - eg. do you think OSD would be useful for this board?
You could have at least put a S/PDIF audio output on there! :lol: (oh wait, don't tell me).
Oooh ooooh - and pixel perfect screen grabs and short vid captures via JTAG !!

OzOnE.
p.s. (sorry, perhaps a bit OTT, but like is like Nerd Pr0n to me).

User avatar
TSX420J
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:57 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by TSX420J » Tue Nov 08, 2011 1:11 am

marshallh wrote:Image
Image
WOW!! That looks incredible!! I wish I knew how to make stuff like that.
When can we expect these to be available? I know you are super busy with
the 64Drive, but from the pics, it looks like they are almost ready. Just
a ballpark figure of when they can be available would put my mind at rest,
thanks.

Will these work on all models or just ones that work with RGB?

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:21 pm

http://img577.imageshack.us/img577/8185/img2762n.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Image
Image
Image

User avatar
TSX420J
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:57 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by TSX420J » Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:28 pm

TEASE!!! LOL, I need one so bad!! I'm using a RF modulator on a LCD :(
The PCB's look beautiful, cant wait to get my hands on one. Been waiting for
something like this to come out since 2005 when I got my first HDTV. Thanks
for sharing your creations with us.

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:03 pm

Image

Now I can pick up where I left off when the electrical tape goo and flux ate my last pcb. lol
Image

User avatar
armarares
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:48 pm
Location: romania

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by armarares » Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:45 am

I like to solder wires exactly like that!
I never give up. But I always fail.

Post Reply