PSP Phat Homebrew Enabling "Adventure!"

Moderator:Moderators

Aguiluz
PSP Phat Homebrew Enabling "Adventure!"

Post by Aguiluz » Sun May 24, 2009 6:56 pm

**Originally posted on May 11, 2008, then got buried months after. :( Can't let the tutorial go to waste, no? ;)**

The PSP Phat Homebrew-Enabling "Adventure!"

INTRO MOVIE...

NICE SHINY PSP!

LATEST SYSTEM UPGRADE!

But the question is...

Will it run Spyro?

Oh, NOOOOO!!!!!!

======================================

This post documents the adventure of ME homebrewing my PSP. I decided it would be wise to snap pictures every step of the way to help other people.

Note that I was a total newbie, so I am using total newbie words.

DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR BRICKS OR DAMAGED PSPs. I PROVIDE THIS AS IS AND USE IT AS YOUR OWN RISK. ALTHOUGH I STRIVE TO MAINTAIN ACCURACY, I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR EXPLOSIONS, PHYSICAL HURT AND EVEN IF YOU BLOW THE CRAP OUT OF THE TOILET SHOULD YOU MISINTERPRET THE INSTRUCTIONS.

DO IT AT YOUR OWN RISK.

=================
CHAPTER I: The Battery
=================

THIS is my victim. A PSP Battery model PSP-110. Other batteries may have different circuitries and may not work. PSP Slim batteries are OFF LIMITS.

----

Let's open this battery with a flathead screwdriver.

BE CAREFUL NOT TO PIERCE THE LITHIUM CELLS, OR A MASSIVE EXPLOSION WILL HAPPEN.

------

Just put it in between the panels and twist it open. CRACK! Repeat many times around the battery perimeter.

CRACK! CRACK! CRACK! CRACK! CRACK! CRACK!

------

Peel off...

------

Extract the circuitry. Be careful, it's delicate!

------

This is the chip you need to look for.

------

See that pin? To turn this into a "Magic Pandora Battery," you either need to desolder it and lift it off the circuit board OR brutally rip it off with pliers. Your choice. Remember, by removing pin 5, the battery will not work on normal gameplay anymore. It turns into a "tool battery."