How to wire LOB64 without a diode

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Basement_Modder
Portablizer
Posts: 962
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:16 am
Location: Next door to my neighbor
Contact:

How to wire LOB64 without a diode

Post by Basement_Modder » Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:23 am

I have confirmed that this does work. The tact switch in the diagram goes in the bottom of the cart slot. It should get pressed when the cart enters.

Image

For those who do not know, the lob 64 pinout is:
1. composite video
2. L audio
3. R Audio
4. GND
5. player 1 data
6. player 2 data
7. Player 3 data
8. Player 4 data
Cheers,
Basement_Modder
_________________

User avatar
Shakespeare
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: How to wire LOB64 without a diode

Post by Shakespeare » Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:35 pm

Basement_Modder wrote:The tact switch in the diagram goes in the bottom of the cart slot. It should get pressed when the cart enters.
Why not use the suggested lever switch? It's useful in that it's simple - the console goes into slave mode when there's no cart inside of it, master when there is. With a tact switch, you'd have to do some guesswork as to whether or not your N64 is in slave mode.
what is this i don't even

User avatar
Basement_Modder
Portablizer
Posts: 962
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:16 am
Location: Next door to my neighbor
Contact:

Re: How to wire LOB64 without a diode

Post by Basement_Modder » Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:09 pm

No you would not. The same thing applies as with the lever switch. If a cart is in, master; If not, slave. This wiring just doesn't require a third pin on the sensor, so you can use a spst pushbutton like a tact switch.
Cheers,
Basement_Modder
_________________

User avatar
Shakespeare
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 11:26 pm

Re: How to wire LOB64 without a diode

Post by Shakespeare » Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:22 pm

Basement_Modder wrote:No you would not. The same thing applies as with the lever switch. If a cart is in, master; If not, slave. This wiring just doesn't require a third pin on the sensor, so you can use a spst pushbutton like a tact switch.
Sorry, guess I'm too used to the tact switches that remain on once pressed, and only change when pressed a second time.
what is this i don't even

User avatar
wajimba
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 4:31 pm
Contact:

Re: How to wire LOB64 without a diode

Post by wajimba » Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:40 pm

Just to let everyone know, you can still use a lever switch with this method if you want to. I will just because it'll be easier to get it to activate accurately and easily. Thanks for the diagram btw!

Code: Select all

$> man woman
$> Segmentation fault (core dumped)
[/color]

User avatar
argelfraster
Posts: 984
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:14 pm
Contact:

Re: How to wire LOB64 without a diode

Post by argelfraster » Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:54 pm

Nice Diagram.
But it would be better if you used some of the n64 scans that were put on here instead of just plain green.

User avatar
Mario
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 7:20 pm
Location: Sunny California

Re: How to wire LOB64 without a diode

Post by Mario » Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:41 am

You know what you should do?
Use my diagram. :P

Image
Image

Post Reply