The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
devileyebrows42
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:06 pm

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by devileyebrows42 » Mon May 03, 2010 2:06 pm

What do you connect to the audioamp? (Sorry im still a newb)
"I can eat so many frosted flakes before i've had tuna"
"Im not a dentist but i do brush my teeth twice a day"
The only things that are free in life are brochures, but nobody wants them.

User avatar
neverused
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:14 pm

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by neverused » Mon May 03, 2010 2:57 pm

You quite literally connect the audio signal to the audio amp, but in all honesty I would make a seperate thread for your screen if you have any questions beyond the answers given so far; it's easier to answer your questions that way.

User avatar
limpport
Senior Member
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:32 pm
Location: (the only person here from) Vermont
Contact:

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by limpport » Mon May 03, 2010 3:23 pm

neverused wrote:You quite literally connect the audio signal to the audio amp, but in all honesty I would make a seperate thread for your screen if you have any questions beyond the answers given so far; it's easier to answer your questions that way.
And clean threads are nice :P



Just make a topic in the Portable Screen Hacking section. I'll copy/paste my post above, and hopefully more people will have ideas.

User avatar
devileyebrows42
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:06 pm

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by devileyebrows42 » Mon May 03, 2010 4:19 pm

thanks for the answers. ill post another topic in the hacking portable screen section if i have anymore questions
"I can eat so many frosted flakes before i've had tuna"
"Im not a dentist but i do brush my teeth twice a day"
The only things that are free in life are brochures, but nobody wants them.

wallydawg
Senior Member
Posts: 2233
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:28 am
Location: Sorry Illinois
Contact:

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by wallydawg » Sat Jul 17, 2010 12:31 am

Bought #2's from soonhua_digital, inside it has a pretty tiny screen board and this fancy cable thing.

Image
board is 2-1/8" x 1-7/8"

Here's the back with the listed pinouts most of which I don't understand what they are for/would do if they were connected. (click for supersize)

Image

As you can see, what's interesting is the other row of pinouts that are completely unused, hastily mspaint circled in magenta.
Image
I not sure what those are for, anyone have any ideas? Maybe it could be for RGB or something (which I know isn't "worth it" visually, but it might be helpful for screen mods involving Gamegears with GGTV mod or the TurboExpress.
Image

User avatar
hailrazer
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2764
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Georgia Sweet Georgia

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by hailrazer » Sat Jul 17, 2010 6:23 am

Those are mostly just the same inputs as the other boards have. Video 1 and Video 2, ground, audio left and right, standby, reverse, etc.

There are just two points, one probably for a pass through module.
My Portable Systems:
Image
-----Genimini---------Darth64---------Dreamtrooper--------Ncube---------Kamikazi64---N64Boy Advance

User avatar
jjhammerstein
Senior Member
Posts: 1562
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: Southern CT
Contact:

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by jjhammerstein » Sat Jul 17, 2010 7:47 am

How thick is it?
GET FREE WOW GOLD SEX VISIT MODRETRO


wallydawg
Senior Member
Posts: 2233
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:28 am
Location: Sorry Illinois
Contact:

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by wallydawg » Sat Jul 17, 2010 1:29 pm

jjhammerstein wrote:How thick is it?
The board itself is 5/16" at its highest point. With the screen itself it's under 1/2" like the rest of the ones posted.
Image

User avatar
limpport
Senior Member
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:32 pm
Location: (the only person here from) Vermont
Contact:

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by limpport » Sat Jul 17, 2010 2:17 pm

At the bottom of page 4 I posted something about discovering how to change the brightness on Screen 2 (and Screen 3 probably, the examples Hail uses have the same exact mobo). If you add a tact switch between the NEXT and GND (ground), you can cycle through 6 levels of brightness. But your mobo seems extremely different. Try connecting things you know are not power to ground and see what happens (but if you kill your screen, I claim no responsibility in the matter :wink: )

User avatar
The Smooth
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 2:19 am

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by The Smooth » Mon Aug 02, 2010 12:37 am

limpport wrote:At the bottom of page 4 I posted something about discovering how to change the brightness on Screen 2 (and Screen 3 probably, the examples Hail uses have the same exact mobo). If you add a tact switch between the NEXT and GND (ground), you can cycle through 6 levels of brightness. But your mobo seems extremely different. Try connecting things you know are not power to ground and see what happens (but if you kill your screen, I claim no responsibility in the matter :wink: )
Mine is different revision to yours and only has 5 unused pins (which aren't labled), would it be safe to try and mess around with the pins to get the effect you got?
Let's just say my portable has got loads of win!!! *hint *hint
Transformice is so addictive!

twilight.yellow
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 9:42 pm

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by twilight.yellow » Fri Aug 13, 2010 11:17 am

I bought the #2 one. When the LCD takes 4.5V and 6V, it's seem unstable and the screen will flash. Any good suggestion to let the screen take 4.5V under stable?

User avatar
hailrazer
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2764
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Georgia Sweet Georgia

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by hailrazer » Fri Aug 13, 2010 11:34 am

There are so many different makes and models on Ebay now it is impossible to tell what lcd will take what voltage , which screen has what adjustments, etc, etc.

It is going to be up to the individual who buys an Lcd to figure it out on their own usually.

If the screen is unstable from 4.5-6v then most likely there will be no way to run it on 4.5-6v.
My Portable Systems:
Image
-----Genimini---------Darth64---------Dreamtrooper--------Ncube---------Kamikazi64---N64Boy Advance

User avatar
mako321
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 6:27 am

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by mako321 » Fri Aug 13, 2010 7:11 pm

You can always use a step up regulator.

gamemasterful
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 1:39 am

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by gamemasterful » Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:20 pm

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... K:MEWNX:IT" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Bought another screen, and either it won't run at 5V, I blew something, or it was just plain defective.

How would I check it with a multimeter? Or would that be board specific...

User avatar
ABCinc
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: UT

Re: The definitive 3.5" Lcd review

Post by ABCinc » Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:25 am

Whats is the Amperage rating on your power source? I think that's the same dealer i got mine from and it runs on 5V just fine.
^ *Information above may be incorrect.* ^
^ *This signature may be incorrect.* ^

Post Reply