how to Disconnect DS top screen and still work??

Trying to get homebrew running on your PSP? Want to add a screen light to your Game Boy? Trying to figure out how to work your GP2X? By popular demand, discuss it in here! (This forum is for pre-built handhelds, NOT custom made portables!)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
superspudz2000
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:34 pm

how to Disconnect DS top screen and still work??

Post by superspudz2000 » Sat May 07, 2011 4:40 pm

i read and old thread where a guy disconnected a DS lites Top screen and still got it to work by bridging the connection of 2 pins.

http://forums.benheck.com/viewtopic.php ... 96&start=0

how do you get a disconnected DS to work??
it just blinks and then powers off

User avatar
Bush
Posts: 672
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:54 pm

Re: how to Disconnect DS top screen and still work??

Post by Bush » Sat May 07, 2011 5:19 pm

Hmm... on my friends it worked without doing anything.

superspudz2000
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: how to Disconnect DS top screen and still work??

Post by superspudz2000 » Mon May 09, 2011 6:52 am

im trying to remove the top screen of a DS Phat, so it will be like a big gameboy micro.

but DS Lite does the same thing. it requires a bounceback signal from the top screen to operate.

how would i even google search it??

User avatar
Super Cameraman
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:25 pm

Re: how to Disconnect DS top screen and still work??

Post by Super Cameraman » Tue May 10, 2011 7:07 pm

I've been wondering the same thing... Any ideas?
If you're looking at this post and it was made before 2008, just ignore it.

superspudz2000
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: how to Disconnect DS top screen and still work??

Post by superspudz2000 » Thu May 12, 2011 8:29 am

tysonDS Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 5:51 pm
^ you have to do an override, very simple, there's this little chip and you have to bridge the connection of 2 pins using a piece of wire.

I'm sorry I can't remember exactly which pins, but I found the pic of the pins on acidmods.

i searched acidmods everywhere and i couldn't find anything.
i wonder is there a schematic diagram of DS somewhere?

User avatar
Super Cameraman
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:25 pm

Re: how to Disconnect DS top screen and still work??

Post by Super Cameraman » Sun May 15, 2011 2:37 pm

Do you think it would be the same method for both the DS and the DS lite?
If you're looking at this post and it was made before 2008, just ignore it.

User avatar
palmertech
Senior Member
Posts: 3225
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:40 am
Location: California, land of the homeless and hippies
Contact:

Re: how to Disconnect DS top screen and still work??

Post by palmertech » Sun May 15, 2011 5:54 pm

Here you go: http://forums.modretro.com/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=623" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Image

Excellent

User avatar
Super Cameraman
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:25 pm

Re: how to Disconnect DS top screen and still work??

Post by Super Cameraman » Mon May 16, 2011 11:56 pm

Ha, that's great! Thanks a lot, no idea it was that simple.
If you're looking at this post and it was made before 2008, just ignore it.

User avatar
absolalone111
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 1:57 am
PSN Username: absolalone
360 GamerTag: absolalone
Steam ID: absolalone111
Location: Leicester. England

Re: how to Disconnect DS top screen and still work??

Post by absolalone111 » Mon Oct 03, 2011 11:16 am

this helped me a binch to thanks! i have an old orig ds lying around, after my little brother broke all the hinges, the wire was the only thing holding the 2 parts of the ds together.
33%

Also resident anime weedlord

Post Reply