Do It Yourself GAMEBOY Flash Cartridge - Custom Electronics

Trying to get homebrew running on your PSP? Want to add a screen light to your Game Boy? Trying to figure out how to work your GP2X? By popular demand, discuss it in here! (This forum is for pre-built handhelds, NOT custom made portables!)

Moderator:Moderators

Gerry_MAN
Do It Yourself GAMEBOY Flash Cartridge - Custom Electronics

Post by Gerry_MAN » Mon Aug 02, 2010 10:59 pm

Hi Folks,

I'm trying to collaborate with other Electronics Hobbyists working on Flash Carts. I'm currently working on a Flash cart for the SEGA GameGear. I just completed one for the Gameboy. My Background is in Electronics and Robotics. I'm still having some issues with the FLash interface, but I'm making progress which is motivating. I'm also working on one for the Sega Genesis.

I find the main problem I'm having is getting the proper ROM chip pinout connections. Allot of the available connection diagrams found online, are put together by other hobbyists and are not always 100% accurate. But regardless, I'll be getting it functioning soon.

Anyone else an avid Electronics Hobbyist? I would love to trade research if anyone is interested.

I have just recently completed a 5 part Instructional Video that shows how to build a Standard GameBoy Flash cart. It also covers Flash Programming procedures using a Willem Programmer and an ATMEL AT49F040 4Mbit Flash Chip or (512Kb of memory storage).

I will be putting another video together for the Genesis Flash Cart version as soon as I finish. But would love to chat with others that have successfully built similar models.

The video below is PART 1 of 5 for the GAMEBOY Flash Cart:
http://youtu.be/KzrYFI0aHVo

I look forward to your replies,

Regards,
-Gerry
Last edited by Gerry_MAN on Thu Aug 23, 2012 8:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.

nevermind1534
Steam ID:nevermind1534

Re: Do It Yourself GAMEBOY Flash Cartridge - Custom Electronics

Post by nevermind1534 » Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:10 am