LED Game Cartridge

Trying to get homebrew running on your PSP? Want to add a screen light to your Game Boy? Trying to figure out how to work your GP2X? By popular demand, discuss it in here! (This forum is for pre-built handhelds, NOT custom made portables!)

Moderator:Moderators

Gaara Ichimaru
LED Game Cartridge

Post by Gaara Ichimaru » Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:17 am

Hey guys, sorry if I sound like a complete noob (tbh I am to modding anyway) but I want to mod my gbc game cart, add an LED light to it so that when its in my gbc it lights up, I did find a tutorial I think but I lost it and it didn't make much sense to me :(

If you only answer specific questions,

1) what do i connect the LED too, and do i need to solder wires to the LED first?

2)Will it only light up when its in the GBC?

Thanks for your time, I just want to start out with a simple mod for experience reasons. If I posted this in the wrong section, sorry, I'm not completely used to the forums yet.

-Gaara
Gaara Ichimaru

Haunted360
PSN Username:Haunted360
360 GamerTag:Haunted 360

Re: LED Game Cartridge

Post by Haunted360 » Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:28 am

Hey,

Yea you can do this Mod. It looks VERY cool when finished.

I think it was Shock Slayer (Known as SS'), who did this.

All I know, is that if you open up your game cartridge and find the +5 / +3.3 Volts (Pin 1) and ground (Pin 32), then wire that to a resistor (if 5 Volts) - followed by an LED. Then your finished!

And yes. It will require soldering.

Thanks.

Gaara Ichimaru

Post by Gaara Ichimaru » Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:49 am

Haunted360 wrote:Hey,

Yea you can do this Mod. It looks VERY cool when finished.

I think it was Shock Slayer (Known as SS'), who did this.

All I know, is that if you open up your game cartridge and find the +5 / +3.3 Volts (Pin 1) and ground (Pin 32), then wire that to a resistor (if 5 Volts) - followed by an LED. Then your finished!

And yes. It will require soldering.

Thanks.