Floppy drive connector to cd-rom or HDD

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
sammy
Posts: 568
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:13 pm

Floppy drive connector to cd-rom or HDD

Post by sammy » Wed Aug 29, 2007 6:16 pm

Hey guys, I just bought this Game Doctor SF7 thingy and it's really cool and all except for one thing: it uses floppy's.
I know there is some sort of cd-rom upgrade available but it's kinda rare and even more expensive then the unit itself.

So I was wondering if I could somehow connect a cd-rom drive or a HDD to the floppy drive connector. Possible?

User avatar
bicostp
Moderator
Posts: 10491
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:47 pm
Steam ID: bicostp
Location: Spamalot
Contact:

Post by bicostp » Wed Aug 29, 2007 9:18 pm

Wouldn't it be easier to add a floppy drive to your computer?

I don't think you can put a CD drive on a floppy bus. (At least not without some hardcore modding.)

User avatar
bacteria
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Post by bacteria » Thu Aug 30, 2007 1:40 am

bicostp wrote:Wouldn't it be easier to add a floppy drive to your computer?

I don't think you can put a CD drive on a floppy bus. (At least not without some hardcore modding.)
Indeed. Your computer should be able to take a floppy drive.
Image

User avatar
Kyo
Senior Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Kyo » Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:26 am

I'm guessing it's more about comfort or space, rather than compability

sammy
Posts: 568
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:13 pm

Post by sammy » Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:07 pm

Yes indeed Kyo. I'm not really feeling like actually buying some floppy's at a store... It's 2007 :?
Also it would be a lot handier if I could just have one cd-rom with a lot of my backups or homebrew games on it instead of using like 3 floppy's for every single game.
But I guess I'm just going to have to use them for now.

User avatar
bicostp
Moderator
Posts: 10491
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:47 pm
Steam ID: bicostp
Location: Spamalot
Contact:

Post by bicostp » Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:13 pm

sammy wrote:Yes indeed Kyo. I'm not really feeling like actually buying some floppy's at a store... It's 2007 :?
So what? They're what you need, so what's the big deal?When do you think the last time CDs changed was?

(By the way plurals don't use apostrophes. Sorry, that's just a peeve of mine.)

User avatar
Kyo
Senior Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Kyo » Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:20 pm

I suppose the new drive would just have to emulate being a floppy drive.

User avatar
bacteria
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Post by bacteria » Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:54 am

Sammy, I have some spare floppy drives from old computers (and a few floppy disks if you need them) if you need one, they are probably hard to get hold of in shops now; and saves you the embarrassment of asking for one! If you are interested, PM me. You are in Europe, as me, so no issues with Customs. How about a straight swap for a TI board (with the 2k ohm resistor and 100pf capacitor attached to give c. 3-3.3v if you have them, if not, no issue)? Other option if you like is payment by PayPal. :wink:
Image

Post Reply