phpbb Sig problem

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator:Moderators

Post Reply
Harshboy
Portablizer
Posts:3610
Joined:Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:44 pm
phpbb Sig problem

Post by Harshboy » Sun Oct 01, 2006 5:26 pm

Ok, i was wondering how to make it so that if you update your signature, that it will insert it into all posts (Even the ones before the change) It does it here but not on my soon finished forums/Darkstar Inc. Version 3.0. Any ideas?

Thanks. :)

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts:6974
Joined:Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location:Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Sun Oct 01, 2006 5:29 pm

Don't see why it wouldn't, each time a post is viewed the signature is fetched from the database, so only the new one should be seen unless it's cached.

Harshboy
Portablizer
Posts:3610
Joined:Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:44 pm

Post by Harshboy » Sun Oct 01, 2006 5:32 pm

Well im clueless.....

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts:6390
Joined:Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location:it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Sun Oct 01, 2006 6:01 pm

Ya, this always happens to me, but it's just because if you have no signature, the "Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)" tickbox is unticked by default. If you can find the script to make it do that and edit it out (probably in the posting.php page...) then it should fix the problem.

Harshboy
Portablizer
Posts:3610
Joined:Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:44 pm

Post by Harshboy » Sun Oct 01, 2006 6:38 pm

Ok, i'll take a look. Thanks skyone.

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts:6390
Joined:Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location:it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:24 pm

What version phpBB are you using?

EDIT: Aha! Found the lil' bugger:

(in /posting.php)

FIND:

Code: Select all

//
// Signature toggle selection
//
if( $user_sig != '' )
{
	$template->assign_block_vars('switch_signature_checkbox', array());
}
CHANGE TO:

Code: Select all

//
// Signature toggle selection
//
//if( $user_sig != '' )
//{
//	$template->assign_block_vars('switch_signature_checkbox', //array());
//}
Now you can't Skyone never helped ya. :twisted:

Post Reply