help with a diy loop station

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
shmagoogin77
Portablizer
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 6:10 pm
Location: My desk
Contact:

help with a diy loop station

Post by shmagoogin77 » Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:13 am

didnt really know where this topic would go so i put it in here
so i was recently lookign at the boss rc20 loop station and thought it was awesome but wasnt allowed to spend $250 on a guitar accessorie so i decided to try and build one. I am gonna build one using 3 ids25120 chipcorders and recorder circuits for 3x overdubbing and a basic stamp as the brians of it even though it is extremely over powered for this kinda prject i dont have any other microcontroller and my uncle just got me a second basic stamp so i have a spare. So im posting here to see if any one here would like to help me out with this prject. i tried posting on diyaudio but they have a stupid thing where u8 have to post like 10 times to make a new thread.
here are some schems and info i have so faR
IDS25xxx recorder ciruits (dont know if the second one will work)
(pdf)
http://www.freeinfosociety.com/electron ... corder.pdf

http://www.freeinfosociety.com/electron ... hp?id=1193

at digikey the isd chips aree $12 a piece put i havnt added up the parts for the recorder circuit yet cause i dont know which one im gonna use
i would like to use the second one because if only has a few parts in it but im pretty sure either one will work
so if any one wants to contribute at all feel free to pm or post here orim me

thanks a bunch

User avatar
madc0w
Senior Member
Posts: 1912
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 7:40 pm
Location: In the ghetto of Larchmont! A HALF-A-MIL HOUSE IS GANGSER!
Contact:

Post by madc0w » Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:42 am

Hey, I was also wanting to make my own looper! Ever heard of kid beyond? He's where me and my friend got the idea from.
Kayleigh57020 wrote: "button" is insanity.
Scientology
Dangerous Cult

User avatar
shmagoogin77
Portablizer
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 6:10 pm
Location: My desk
Contact:

Post by shmagoogin77 » Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:51 am

how were u planning tio make it??

User avatar
madc0w
Senior Member
Posts: 1912
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 7:40 pm
Location: In the ghetto of Larchmont! A HALF-A-MIL HOUSE IS GANGSER!
Contact:

Post by madc0w » Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:54 am

No idea! We were working on a software based system (by we I mean my friend) but we never really got anywhere. Not like any of us can like beat box or anything.
Music related topic: Anyone know a Homebrew atari synth cart or something? I would like to play some music with my portable atari.
Kayleigh57020 wrote: "button" is insanity.
Scientology
Dangerous Cult

User avatar
shmagoogin77
Portablizer
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 6:10 pm
Location: My desk
Contact:

Post by shmagoogin77 » Thu Sep 21, 2006 11:32 am

what do u mean software based??
im when u canplease

User avatar
madc0w
Senior Member
Posts: 1912
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 7:40 pm
Location: In the ghetto of Larchmont! A HALF-A-MIL HOUSE IS GANGSER!
Contact:

Post by madc0w » Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:17 am

Like have it record from speaker/stereo output, then have like diferent buttons arranged to different channels.
Kayleigh57020 wrote: "button" is insanity.
Scientology
Dangerous Cult

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by timmeh87 » Fri Sep 22, 2006 9:53 am

make a tape delay with one continuous loop of tape!

(shouldnt be that hard, just need 2 old tape players)
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Fri Sep 22, 2006 10:01 am

I think your best bet would either be using an old pc (the way I'd do it if I had one just since I'm kinda lazy) or a PIC with some SRAM and maybe a LCD display.

User avatar
shmagoogin77
Portablizer
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 6:10 pm
Location: My desk
Contact:

Post by shmagoogin77 » Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:26 pm

i have a basic stamp, 2 acually but i dont know how i could record on that

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Sat Sep 23, 2006 4:06 pm

I'd recommend using a mp3 encoder/decoder chip or some other a/d audio chip so you can store the audio easily in the ram.

vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Post by vb_master » Sat Sep 23, 2006 4:41 pm

madc0w wrote:Music related topic: Anyone know a Homebrew atari synth cart or something? I would like to play some music with my portable atari.
Uhh, the Synth Cart for Atari 2600 by Paul Slocum. Get one, support the homebrew community.

It uses two keypad controllers, like from Star Raider.

User avatar
madc0w
Senior Member
Posts: 1912
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 7:40 pm
Location: In the ghetto of Larchmont! A HALF-A-MIL HOUSE IS GANGSER!
Contact:

Post by madc0w » Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:43 pm

Is there one I could use with regular controllers or something? Is there a way I could make the keypad controllers?
Kayleigh57020 wrote: "button" is insanity.
Scientology
Dangerous Cult

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:52 pm


User avatar
shmagoogin77
Portablizer
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 6:10 pm
Location: My desk
Contact:

Post by shmagoogin77 » Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:46 pm

is the isd25120 and encoder decoder chp??

Post Reply