Fax and AOL Over Skype

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Fax and AOL Over Skype

Post by vb_master » Fri Sep 15, 2006 9:32 pm

Tonight me and some friends were fooling around with Skype, and they added AOL dialin to our conference. It wouldn't do anything at first, but when we played this, it tried to make a data connection.

We have been considering a way to make a fax over Skype free.

Any suggestions?

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Fri Sep 15, 2006 9:58 pm

Easy, get a modem, wire a stereo plug onto the onboard speaker ports, and then patch that into your mic input. Then again, that's the pure hardware way. I'm sure you could do it purely in software if you wanted.

vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Post by vb_master » Fri Sep 15, 2006 9:59 pm

gannon wrote:Easy, get a modem, wire a stereo plug onto the onboard speaker ports, and then patch that into your mic input. Then again, that's the pure hardware way. I'm sure you could do it purely in software if you wanted.
I was considering something like that, unfortunatly noone here has a desktop with a dialup card.

User avatar
Sparkfist
Forum Administrator
Posts: 6754
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 7:12 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Sparkfist » Sat Sep 16, 2006 8:43 am

I know there is a way to send a document as a fax in Word. Can't tell you as I don't use Word and I was shown this months ago. But I'm not 100% but I do think that you can send that fax to another computer, much like any file transfer. So that's something you can look into to see if it works.
vskid wrote:Nerd = likes school, does all their homework, dies if they don't get 100% on every assignment
Geek = likes technology, dies if the power goes out and his UPS dies too

I am a geek.

vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Post by vb_master » Sat Sep 16, 2006 10:21 am

Sparkfist wrote:I know there is a way to send a document as a fax in Word. Can't tell you as I don't use Word and I was shown this months ago. But I'm not 100% but I do think that you can send that fax to another computer, much like any file transfer. So that's something you can look into to see if it works.
We wanted to do it using the Windows send a fax thing, just to see if it was even possible.

User avatar
Sir Games-A-Lot
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Sitting around a table wishing the king would get IBM Consultants

Post by Sir Games-A-Lot » Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:59 pm

gannon wrote:Easy, get a modem, wire a stereo plug onto the onboard speaker ports, and then patch that into your mic input. Then again, that's the pure hardware way. I'm sure you could do it purely in software if you wanted.
But Skype dosn't emit a dial tone, won't that confuse the modem/dialing software?
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=5780" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 83% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>

User avatar
The Earl of Sandwich
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 2:32 am
Location: Idaho
Contact:

Post by The Earl of Sandwich » Thu Sep 21, 2006 12:51 am

Sir Games-A-Lot wrote:won't that confuse the modem/dialing software?
Most modem software has a little checkbox to wait for the dial tone or not

Post Reply