does flux short out stuff?

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Master of Portables
Portablizer
Posts: 335
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 9:48 pm
Contact:

does flux short out stuff?

Post by Master of Portables » Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:38 am

does it?
<img src="http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/1597 ... sigzg0.png">
ChronoTriggerfan wrote:you should focus all your energy on making a really pretty case
Dragon Force pwns every other band in the world!
:mrgreen:

User avatar
totokan
Senior Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by totokan » Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:50 am

No, it's non-conductant.
Shhh! I'm not officially back yet.

User avatar
Krepticor
Senior Member
Posts: 1567
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:06 pm
Location: Shadow Hearts

Post by Krepticor » Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:09 am

the proper term is di-electric
I refuse to dignify myself with an intelligent and witty signature

User avatar
totokan
Senior Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by totokan » Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:07 pm

Yeah, what he said.
Shhh! I'm not officially back yet.

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by timmeh87 » Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:29 pm

i have liquid flux that is quite conductive.
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

User avatar
totokan
Senior Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by totokan » Wed Sep 06, 2006 1:12 pm

Well, it really depends on what you're using...
Shhh! I'm not officially back yet.

User avatar
Krepticor
Senior Member
Posts: 1567
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:06 pm
Location: Shadow Hearts

Post by Krepticor » Wed Sep 06, 2006 2:00 pm

depends o the type of flux...

most have a little conductitivity others are very,

The point it that it is messy and the rosin in rosin core solder is quite conductive

Needless to say when you are done with a long days se of flux, place some methanol on a toothbrush and scrub it down...just to be safe
I refuse to dignify myself with an intelligent and witty signature

User avatar
Master of Portables
Portablizer
Posts: 335
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 9:48 pm
Contact:

Post by Master of Portables » Fri Sep 08, 2006 8:33 pm

well you see, I don't use flux, but it some times is on the solder, is that conductive?
<img src="http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/1597 ... sigzg0.png">
ChronoTriggerfan wrote:you should focus all your energy on making a really pretty case
Dragon Force pwns every other band in the world!
:mrgreen:

superdeformed
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:45 pm
Contact:

Post by superdeformed » Fri Sep 08, 2006 9:54 pm

You wouldn't be able to solder without flux. Usually the solder has a flux core, and it usually isn't conductive (atleast, not enough to affect anything). Of course, that is assuming you are using solder meant for electronics.

Post Reply