Dsl and Dail up

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
project_failure
Posts: 812
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 4:04 pm
Contact:

Dsl and Dail up

Post by project_failure » Tue Sep 05, 2006 6:55 pm

If i get dsl and my grandma uses dail up on the same phone line can we both be on at once? :?
Sword_Gun wrote:Klef your asking a whole bunch of videogame players.. for girl advice.. Nice.
It is not junk! It is assorted goods with no current use.
-Project Failure

User avatar
atari2600a
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:42 am
Location: Schwarzeneggerville, CA
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Tue Sep 05, 2006 6:59 pm

If you get DSL, then what the funkadelic is the point of dial up!? Just simply buy a router from a surplus for ~$20...

User avatar
Sparkfist
Forum Administrator
Posts: 6754
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 7:12 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Sparkfist » Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:02 am

Quick answer yes.

However I'd like to know why you want to continue using dialup. Just about any DSL should have enough bandwidth to let 2+ users serf the web without slowing either one down. Just go out and buy a Router that has a built in switch. Then run ethernet cable to those computers.
vskid wrote:Nerd = likes school, does all their homework, dies if they don't get 100% on every assignment
Geek = likes technology, dies if the power goes out and his UPS dies too

I am a geek.

User avatar
project_failure
Posts: 812
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 4:04 pm
Contact:

Post by project_failure » Wed Sep 06, 2006 5:12 pm

Doesn't matter any more.

I was going to get dsl and my grandma wanted to keep her dail-up.

but now she is going to get dsl.
Sword_Gun wrote:Klef your asking a whole bunch of videogame players.. for girl advice.. Nice.
It is not junk! It is assorted goods with no current use.
-Project Failure

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Post by vskid » Wed Sep 06, 2006 5:44 pm

project_failure wrote:Doesn't matter any more.

I was going to get dsl and my grandma wanted to keep her dail-up.

but now she is going to get dsl.
Is she going to get her own or use yours?
Image

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by timmeh87 » Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:26 pm

you cant use two dsl modems on the same phone line
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Post by vskid » Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:11 pm

timmeh87 wrote:you cant use two dsl modems on the same phone line
So either his grandma wants to waste money to get another phone line and dsl, or she just got smart and decided to share his dsl.
Image

Post Reply