Noobish question about tactile switches

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
blackbox_dev
Senior Member
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: Formerly known as iam7805

Noobish question about tactile switches

Post by blackbox_dev » Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:15 am

This is the first time i've ever worked with tactile switches, so I need some advice on how to use them. Which pins do I connect to? Would a setup like this work or would they always be leaving the circuit closed/open:

Image

Thanks in advance,
-iam7805
I'd imagine right now you wish you were a cuttlefish...

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by jeffslot » Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:20 am

Hi guys,

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but here is what I think.

I've seen 2 types of switches. Ones with 2 pins & ones with 4 pins.

If your switch has two legs then just hook one up to ground & the other up to the trace (up, down, left, right, start etc) that you want it to control.

If your switch has 4 legs, I believe it is the same, just use two legs that are on opposite sides. Thanks.

Jeff S

User avatar
blackbox_dev
Senior Member
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: Formerly known as iam7805

Post by blackbox_dev » Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:22 am

My switch has 4 legs. I want to know if I can use both legs so that I can minimize the amount of perfboard traces I have to cut.

Thanks for the quick response, Jeff. Can I get some more information to confirm what Jeff said?

Thanks,
-iam7805
I'd imagine right now you wish you were a cuttlefish...

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by jeffslot » Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:24 am

I think that if you switch has 4 legs, you still would only need to wire 1 to ground & 1 to the direction (that would leave two that can be ignored).

(at least that is what I rememeber from my atari proj, back in the day). I hope I'm understanding you correctly.

Jeff

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by timmeh87 » Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:47 am

somone once said to always hook up two legs that are diagonally opposite. that way you know that you have it right regardless of orientation.

dont you have a miltimeter?
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

User avatar
codeman
Posts: 314
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 2:29 pm
Contact:

Post by codeman » Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:01 am

yeah...there is a correct orientation for a 4 pin tact switch. There are two sides where the two pins are tied together...so like tim said, if you always go diagonally you'll be ok. Sometimes there are markings on the bottom to show which sides belong together.
What I have shown you is reality. What you remember, that is the illusion.

"Say, what does this button do?"

All the dishes rattle in the cupboards when the elephants arrive

User avatar
blackbox_dev
Senior Member
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: Formerly known as iam7805

Post by blackbox_dev » Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:16 am

Ok, I'll do it that way. Thanks guys!
I'd imagine right now you wish you were a cuttlefish...

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:25 am

Yep, diagonally is idiot proof...unless whoever made the switch was an idiot and had the leads diagonal of each other continuous... :P

Post Reply