psone screen & computer - wash out.

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

psone screen & computer - wash out.

Post by jeffslot » Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:55 am

hi guys,

I've got a psone screen hooked up to a pc. It looks great for about 5 seconds, then proceeds to wash out in white? Any ideas why this is happening? Thanks.

Jeff S

User avatar
Indigno
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:31 pm
Contact:

Post by Indigno » Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:03 am

Check to be sure that all of your connections are good. I have had this happen with a portable LCD television before, but one time I just turned it off and on and it never came back. I have no idea why.
Getting a tan while everyone else is in a blizzard... >.<

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by timmeh87 » Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:57 am

where does the power come from? is the washing out sudden or gradual?
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by jeffslot » Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:15 am

Currently the power is coming from batteries. The washing out is a gradual left to right, but it happens pretty quickly.

Jeff

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by timmeh87 » Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:22 am

hm. no ideas yet. what kind of video signal are you using?

could you just turn down the brightness? (did you do the brightness mod?)
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by jeffslot » Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:27 am

I'm using composite video, Nope not led mod at all on this screen. Is there any specific settings I need to make on the pc?

Jeff

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Thu Aug 17, 2006 2:14 pm

How much voltage are you applying to it? Can you measure it?

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by jeffslot » Thu Aug 17, 2006 2:25 pm

7.2v

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by timmeh87 » Thu Aug 17, 2006 3:19 pm

so the composite video is coming from an s-video port on a graphics card?

tie the ground of the battery to the ground of the comptuer, maybe?

(edit... you would have obviously have to have done this to get video. ... what guage is the wire connecting them?)
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

Post Reply