electronics questions

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
*o*
Senior Member
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: sydney, australia

electronics questions

Post by *o* » Fri Aug 11, 2006 4:32 am

hi

i was wondering how to make a 555 timer give me a small pulse of electricity every 1/60 of a second (so it is 60hz), which would go through a transistor and allow higher current to be transferred to a high draw load?

would it be possible to make a two button interface (up [faster] down[slower])? or would i need to use a PIC?

Could anyone write code for a PIC for me if i gave you a detailed explanation of what i need?

does anyone know how to make a cheap USB PIC programmer?

thanks guys!
Last edited by *o* on Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Penn & Teller wrote:It's BULLS#%@

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Fri Aug 11, 2006 4:46 am

I'll edit my post soon with some help, but this should be in the Tech Q&A forum.

Sorry not to be helpful. :P

User avatar
*o*
Senior Member
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: sydney, australia

Post by *o* » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:00 am

oops! i thought i was in it :oops:

damned tab browsing...

could a mod move this plz?
Penn & Teller wrote:It's BULLS#%@

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:12 am

Ok well, if you want to have 2 speeds, what do you want them to be? There are two variables here, T1 and T2.

T1: Output High/On (In Seconds)
T2: Output Low/Off (In Seconds)

So what do you want T1 and T2 to be for speed one, and speed two?

User avatar
*o*
Senior Member
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: sydney, australia

Post by *o* » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:20 am

sorry i dont understand what you mean, do you mean the time between the high (T1) and low (T2)?

is it possible to have an adjustable speed thats sped up just slightly by two buttons?

sorry im really tired tonight so i might not make very much sense...
Penn & Teller wrote:It's BULLS#%@

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:25 am

You'd need some sort of microcontroller for that, but you can use a potentiometer!

User avatar
*o*
Senior Member
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: sydney, australia

Post by *o* » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:26 am

hhhmmm ok well the site used a PIC16F628...would that work for this?
Penn & Teller wrote:It's BULLS#%@

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:29 am

What site? Can you link me?

User avatar
*o*
Senior Member
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: sydney, australia

Post by *o* » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:31 am

Penn & Teller wrote:It's BULLS#%@

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:36 am

The site seems kind of general... But let me see if I can think of something. Give me a couple minutes.

User avatar
*o*
Senior Member
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: sydney, australia

Post by *o* » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:37 am

thanks a lot for the help...

i think im going to read more about pic's tomorow and do more research on everything.
Penn & Teller wrote:It's BULLS#%@

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:46 am

I really don't think it's worth it, to use a PIC. You sure you don't just want to use a potentiometer?

User avatar
*o*
Senior Member
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: sydney, australia

Post by *o* » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:48 am

i would prefer it to be digital....but if using a pic is too hard ill use a pot.

if i make this i will make a full instructables piece for any noob to follow lol
Penn & Teller wrote:It's BULLS#%@

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:57 am

To prevent cost of a PIC and programmer, I HIGHLY suggest using a cool pot such as a slide potentiometer. Eh? :P

User avatar
*o*
Senior Member
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: sydney, australia

Post by *o* » Fri Aug 11, 2006 6:02 am

i want to build the pic programmer as it doesnt look TOO complicated aslong as all parts are standard i think ill be fine...i havent been able to find anything llike that yet...
Penn & Teller wrote:It's BULLS#%@

Post Reply