would boosting the signal help?

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
DeathJr89
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 11:31 am
Location: new york, the land of bad accents
Contact:

would boosting the signal help?

Post by DeathJr89 » Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:38 pm

i have an atari 10 in 1 plugged in to my portable TV through an external antenna port, and the TV is picking up the signal, but the picture is very fuzzy at best. it's also black and white and is constantly fading in and out. would boosting the signal on the atari fix this? i have it hooked up through 3 adaptors so that it would go into the external antenna port, could that be what's interrupting the signal? any info would help a lot, tanks.
This fall...
Death strikes twice...
wOOt

User avatar
atari2600a
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:42 am
Location: Schwarzeneggerville, CA
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:58 pm

Wait, you mean the 10-in-1 controller thing that has a NOAC? ...& you're trying to hook it up through an Antenna port?

User avatar
DeathJr89
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 11:31 am
Location: new york, the land of bad accents
Contact:

Post by DeathJr89 » Sat Aug 05, 2006 8:40 am

...i dont know if it has a NOAC the only things i can't figure out on it are these two black globs of plaastic on the board...but yes, i am hooking it up through an antenna port. is that bad? and how do you think i can fix the problem?
This fall...
Death strikes twice...
wOOt

User avatar
atari2600a
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:42 am
Location: Schwarzeneggerville, CA
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Sat Aug 05, 2006 8:49 am

Yes, & not only is it wrong, it's disgusting & unholy! The output signal is Composite, Composite I say!

(& the black globs are the NOAC & the ROM)

User avatar
DeathJr89
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 11:31 am
Location: new york, the land of bad accents
Contact:

Post by DeathJr89 » Sat Aug 05, 2006 8:55 am

oooooo.....the way i have it hooked up is that i only have the video plug going in, so it wouldnt have sound anyway, so why wouldnt it work? i mean, the picture goes through a bit, it just doesnt seem like the signal is strong enough, does anyone else wanna give me advise? im gonna keep experimenting, i was never much of a holy man anyway :wink:
This fall...
Death strikes twice...
wOOt

User avatar
atari2600a
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:42 am
Location: Schwarzeneggerville, CA
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Sat Aug 05, 2006 9:06 am

Ant=A type of signal
Composite (A/V)=A DIFFERENT SIGNAL

Composite Signal+RF Tuner (Ant)=Failure!

User avatar
DeathJr89
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 11:31 am
Location: new york, the land of bad accents
Contact:

Post by DeathJr89 » Sat Aug 05, 2006 9:13 am

ok, thank you, i understood you the first time. i have a question for you, what's the difference between UHF and VHF?
This fall...
Death strikes twice...
wOOt

User avatar
atari2600a
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:42 am
Location: Schwarzeneggerville, CA
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Sat Aug 05, 2006 9:19 am

Just the frequencies the channels are at...

User avatar
DeathJr89
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 11:31 am
Location: new york, the land of bad accents
Contact:

Post by DeathJr89 » Sat Aug 05, 2006 9:29 am

ok thank you.
This fall...
Death strikes twice...
wOOt

Electric Rain
Senior Member
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:39 pm
PSN Username: Denki_no_Ame
Location: What's it to you? Stalker...
Contact:

Post by Electric Rain » Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:48 am

VHF = Very High Frequency
UHF = Ultra High Frequency

No joke. :lol:

Also, to put what atari2600a was trying to say in a slightly less rude way, the antenna port is an RF, or "Radio Frequency" jack. That jack uses the same type of signal as the "twist on" jacks you see on the back of most TVs, which are actually called "F" jacks. These jacks combine the audio and video signals into one wire. You're 10 in 1 outputs a completely different type of signal, called Composite Video. You can read up more on these connection types here.
Image

User avatar
DeathJr89
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 11:31 am
Location: new york, the land of bad accents
Contact:

Post by DeathJr89 » Sun Aug 06, 2006 11:51 am

thank you for the politeness :) i was told it was the wrong signal, but my dad talked me into trying it and the TV picks it up, but it just seems like theres too much interference.just out of curiosity, how come the picture gets picked up by the TV at all if it's the wrong type of signal?
This fall...
Death strikes twice...
wOOt

Post Reply