atx power supply question.

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

atx power supply question.

Post by jeffslot » Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:47 pm

Hi guys,

I found this pinout on the web. It looks very usefull for my next project.

http://pinouts.ru/data/atxpower_pinout.shtml

What I'm wondering though is does the color coding apply to the non 20 pin connectors? IE. if a red wire is going to power a hard drive or a cd drive does that run on +5 volts? Thanks.

Jeff S

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:50 pm

Yes, Red is always +5v, and Yellow is +12v on the molex:

Image

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by jeffslot » Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:54 pm

Thanks Skyler (I've already started the next project). I'm going to consolize my neo-geo. It's going to be fit into a computer case though.

:D

User avatar
atari2600a
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:42 am
Location: Schwarzeneggerville, CA
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:59 pm

For a case that big, you might as well have a 10" LCD motorically* eject & rise out of it when you turn it on! :P

*motorically=some word I made up on the spot

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by jeffslot » Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:47 pm

Hi there.

I've connected the green pin on my atx connector to the black next to it. My atx power supply sounds like it it trying to turn on, but it just doesn't get going (I'm hoping the powersupply isn't bad). Any advice? Thanks

Jeff S

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by timmeh87 » Sun Aug 20, 2006 5:07 pm

someone told me once that certain power supplies wont work without a load. is your hardware hooked up to it?
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:13 pm

Doesn't the green just need a momentary connection to ground?

Adeptus
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 7:13 pm

Post by Adeptus » Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:16 pm

Continuous, I think, not momentary
Image

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by timmeh87 » Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:07 pm

the power switch is momentary, but thats a function of the motherboard, not the power supply.
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by jeffslot » Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:02 pm

Well,

When I connect the +5 to my mother board (and the ground) the power indicator on my motherboard starts up. Howwever, the fan on my psu still isn't spinning? Help. Below is where I got my atx info from. Thanks.

Jeff S

http://pinouts.ru/Power/atxpower_pinout.shtml

Adeptus
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 7:13 pm

Post by Adeptus » Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:19 pm

Could be a dead fan... if it's supplying power then the PSU fan should be going.
Image

Post Reply