changing your ip address

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
User avatar
ganonbanned
Senior Member
Posts: 2211
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 5:58 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

changing your ip address

Post by ganonbanned » Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:45 am

so ive been banned from a few websites (digitpress and gamefaqs to be exact) and they detect your IP address so every time i make a new account i am screwed. i have read that if you unplug the modem for like 5 minutes it will reset and it didnt work. does anybody know how to do this?

User avatar
ganonbanned
Senior Member
Posts: 2211
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 5:58 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Post by ganonbanned » Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:47 am

nevermind, close this or move it. i just realized that this should be in tech q&A.

User avatar
Sword_Gun
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Somewhere rapping with DeTsL
Contact:

Post by Sword_Gun » Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:50 am

I think that question is in the grey area of the forums.
As you have gotten banned for a reason off those sites, and you shouldnt bypass it.
Image

Official Beta Quest Hunter
Official Alpha Quest Hunter

NES NOW!!: DONE!

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Post by ShockSlayer » Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:53 am

Sword_Gun wrote:I think that question is in the grey area of the forums.
As you have gotten banned for a reason off those sites, and you shouldnt bypass it.
Good point.

What kind of ip do you have? static, dynamic, custom ect ect ect.

EDIT: I know this is bad, but try creating it on a different computer. :shock:

This topic should be closed cause its black now.
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
ganonbanned
Senior Member
Posts: 2211
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 5:58 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Post by ganonbanned » Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:58 am

ShockSlayer wrote:
Sword_Gun wrote:I think that question is in the grey area of the forums.
As you have gotten banned for a reason off those sites, and you shouldnt bypass it.
Good point.

What kind of ip do you have? static, dynamic, custom ect ect ect.

EDIT: I know this is bad, but try creating it on a different computer. :shock:

This topic should be closed cause its black now.
well the thing about it is (this is the truth) my brother got a-hole of my password (its the same on all sites) and went to digitpress and said F U when someone said zelda was better than final fantasy. he went on gfaqs and said that he was 12, and you might know what happens with that. as for the IP address, i think its is static but i am not sure. i dont know that much about that.

vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Post by vb_master » Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:00 am

null
Last edited by vb_master on Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Sword_Gun
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Somewhere rapping with DeTsL
Contact:

Post by Sword_Gun » Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:06 am

Guys, I wouldnt give him any information, becuase when signing up for those sites, you agree to even if someone gets on your account and does something, your held responsible.

Example: Joey stole my account and hacked EVERYONE on the site. Well you would be held responsible, becuase you dont have any substantial proof proving it wasnt you. (Just saying it was joey wouldnt do anything)

Also we dont even know if your brother did that, it could have been you and your just lying and looking for a way to bypass a ban.

Also, public proxy servers, are for discretely browsing the internet (So noone can hack you and such), they are NOT used for bypassing a ban, probably every single proxy tells you in a disclaimer somewhere, that you may not use it for bypassing a ban, and if so you do and be caught you can get punished.

Also, gannonbanned, not to be rude but you should start using grammar and capitalization.
Last edited by Sword_Gun on Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:10 am, edited 2 times in total.
Image

Official Beta Quest Hunter
Official Alpha Quest Hunter

NES NOW!!: DONE!

User avatar
ganonbanned
Senior Member
Posts: 2211
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 5:58 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Post by ganonbanned » Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:07 am

Sword_Gun wrote:Guys, I wouldnt give him any information, becuase when signing up for those sites, you agree to even if someone gets on your account and does something, your held responsible.

Example: Joey stole my account and hacked EVERYONE on the site. Well you would be held responsible, becuase you dont have any substantial proof proving it wasnt you. (Just saying it was joey wouldnt do anything)

Also we dont even know if your brother did that, it could have been you and your just lying and looking for a way to bypass a ban.
my brother even admits to it though.

Nonsense Man
Posts: 896
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 10:03 am
Location: somewhere
Contact:

Post by Nonsense Man » Wed Jul 26, 2006 5:15 pm

How would we know if your brother admits it where is the proof.

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Wed Jul 26, 2006 5:20 pm

all of you saying this is a bad thread who arent mods should just leave, if you cant answer this question and your not a mod/admin you shouldnt be telling other people to not reply so sword, please just chill the copulate out man
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
Sword_Gun
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Somewhere rapping with DeTsL
Contact:

Post by Sword_Gun » Wed Jul 26, 2006 6:13 pm

Man, I am just telling him so an admin doesnt warn him. Geez.
Image

Official Beta Quest Hunter
Official Alpha Quest Hunter

NES NOW!!: DONE!

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Wed Jul 26, 2006 6:23 pm

Look, you wouldn't be banned for saying **** you on digitpress forums. I've said f*** you thousands of times on that site...

Anyways, even though it's against both those site's rules to use a proxy to cheat the system....

User avatar
Krepticor
Senior Member
Posts: 1567
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:06 pm
Location: Shadow Hearts

Post by Krepticor » Wed Jul 26, 2006 6:34 pm

fact is if you got banned...you probably deserved it for doing it way too much

usually mods give youone friendly warning and after that your banned, so your boned
I refuse to dignify myself with an intelligent and witty signature

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Post by marshallh » Wed Jul 26, 2006 7:27 pm

The question has already been answered, if you google around, it's easy enough to change your IP depending on your ISP.

Users are users, and mods are mods. Everyone needs to recognize this a little more. We can function fine without assistance.

To prevent further flaming... locked.
Image

Locked