wiring tact switches for an atari controller

Do you have a technical question that doesn't really fit a specific console? Want some general info on electronics, hacking, making cookies, etc? Here's the place to ask! Go nuts.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
NESBest
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 1:50 pm

wiring tact switches for an atari controller

Post by NESBest » Wed May 17, 2006 4:24 pm

hey guys, as a boredom project and because im trying to learn about controller hacking, i'm hoping to wire an atari controller this weekend. the controller has 6 wires i beleive, and five buttons. my plan was to get some pc board, lay some tact switches how i like, take the wires from the chip board from the atari joystick, and wire them in the correct way to these pinouts. there are no IC's on the boards so i figured it would work. if this will not work, please tell me, but i was wondering how you wire tact switches, because they have four porngs, and there is only 6 wires in all on the board

User avatar
daguuy
Portablizer
Posts: 3666
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:09 pm
Location: missoura

Post by daguuy » Wed May 17, 2006 4:43 pm

you wire any 2 prongs that are diagonal to each other. there's a pinout of where to connect the buttons to the atari board somewhere on the site.
ImageImage

User avatar
Life of Brian
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by Life of Brian » Wed May 17, 2006 4:44 pm

Is this an Atari 2600 you're using or something else?
dragonhead wrote:sweet. ive spent a third of my life on benheck!
Image

User avatar
NESBest
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 1:50 pm

Post by NESBest » Wed May 17, 2006 7:31 pm

i'm interested in using it on an atari

User avatar
Life of Brian
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by Life of Brian » Thu May 18, 2006 5:51 pm

What I mean is that there are different versions of the atari. Do a quick wikipedia search and find out what type you have. I don't think I quite understand what you mean by five buttons and six wires.
dragonhead wrote:sweet. ive spent a third of my life on benheck!
Image

User avatar
NESBest
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 1:50 pm

Post by NESBest » Thu May 18, 2006 7:01 pm

ya i'm using an atari 2600 six switch, i was looking at the controller more today, theres 6 wires that run to it, i beleive 1 for each button, and then the 6th one is to power it, i've figured out which wires go to what button and all that, so i'm planning on connecting those wires to tact switches instead, and just losing the board completely becuz there are no ic's on it so the board seems useless for a custom controller

User avatar
Life of Brian
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by Life of Brian » Thu May 18, 2006 10:52 pm

Yup - you're right. That's all you need to do.
dragonhead wrote:sweet. ive spent a third of my life on benheck!
Image

Post Reply