Poor man's case (No oven or machine) help?

Yes it is nice to be able to put your projects INSIDE something isn't it? You know, to hold everything together so it doesn't flop around? Discuss the techniques here!

Moderator:Moderators

tabegoro
Poor man's case (No oven or machine) help?

Post by tabegoro » Tue Sep 27, 2011 11:46 pm

Is there any way to make a good case without an oven or machine to cut plastic? Could I use wood that I carved or would the laptop/xbox 360 overheat? Could I use hot water or a lighter to shape the plastic or would that give out toxic fumes that kill me :( ? I live in a country where apartments don't have ovens and I am limited to what I can fit in my place since it is only 20m squared in size.

Maize

Re: Poor man's case (No oven or machine) help?

Post by Maize » Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:26 pm

I'm no expert (not even close) but I don't like the
chances of the wood NOT catching on fire.

wezza7611

Post by wezza7611 » Thu Sep 29, 2011 3:41 am

Try purchasing plastic already cut to shape and assemble it with plastic cement or glue?

Reaper P7
PSN Username:Haha... Yea Right
360 GamerTag:Subscription? Nah.
Steam ID:Refer to email to add me.

Post by Reaper P7 » Thu Sep 29, 2011 9:18 am

You can use Plexiglas and PVC cement as aforementioned.
I also favor using the plastic cornering for drywall that is $4 per 6 feet or so.
I makes for a cleaner look, and adds some strength.

I made a deskbook with that design.
http://forums.benheck.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=43812" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

suzanmarvel
PSN Username:suzanmarvel

Post by suzanmarvel » Sat Oct 08, 2011 4:54 am

The only way to make good case without an oven or machine to cut plastic is what Reaper mentioned.You should try using Plexiglas and PVC cement as aforementioned.Hope it may help you to make good case.

jaqiefox

Post by jaqiefox » Sat Oct 08, 2011 3:52 pm

there are a lot more ways to make a good case without those resources.