Cutting Plastic properly?

Yes it is nice to be able to put your projects INSIDE something isn't it? You know, to hold everything together so it doesn't flop around? Discuss the techniques here!

Moderator:Moderators

circahasfallen
360 GamerTag:burnout1511
Cutting Plastic properly?

Post by circahasfallen » Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:11 pm

Hey All!
I am new to case modding and am not sure what to use to cut a 1/4" hole for a 15 position d-sub connector in a GBA.
What I am doing is trying to make room for the controller input that I'm just about finished up making. My main problem is that
I don't have a dremel...as I've heard they are good for cutting plastic. Would a Xacto-Knife suffice? Should I go the heated kitchen knife route or will that look bad? Any help would be appreciated! :mrgreen:
:mrgreen:

Bush

Re: Cutting Plastic properly?

Post by Bush » Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:30 pm

You can use a drill to make holes within the area you want cut, and sand the edges out. Or, you can use a small bit and cut with it.

bicostp
Steam ID:bicostp

Post by bicostp » Thu Apr 14, 2011 10:19 pm

When drilling thin plastic, remember to keep the bit spinning fast and drill against a piece of scrap wood like a chunk of 2x4. (Drilling a pilot hole with a smaller bit helps too.) If your drill bit is turning too slowly, it will bite the plastic and rip jagged chunks out. The idea is to scrape the hole out with light pressure and fast bit speed, not carve through it like wood.

If you need a square hole, draw it out on the plastic, then drill the bulk of the unwanted material out with a bunch of holes like this:

[OOOOO]

Then you can square the corners out with your knife.

When using a non-serrated knife to cut plastic, treat it as though it has teeth and saw up and down a bit. Just pushing harder to slice through material only leads to blood loss.

circahasfallen

Post by circahasfallen » Fri Apr 15, 2011 12:11 pm