NES RF Removal/Bipass?

Hey, making some projects from my book? Got a question about something? Wanna share what you've done? Here's the place - go for it!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
kidw/32+systems
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 4:20 pm
Location: Clevelandish,OH

NES RF Removal/Bipass?

Post by kidw/32+systems » Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:27 pm

I don't know the correct name, but I was wondering if there is any way to bipass the NES RF box or do i have to remove it? I'm using a pocket TV.
Last edited by kidw/32+systems on Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PlayChoice games 50/54 37 toppers

User avatar
S q u e e !
Posts: 835
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Lost. Are you my mommy?

Post by S q u e e ! » Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:40 pm

RF box you mean? Naw, you just remove it. Maybe you can bypass it, but I doubt it.
"I like my coffee like I like my women. In a plastic cup."

~Eddie Izzard

User avatar
G-force
Moderator
Posts: 3609
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 1:43 pm
Location: Sweet home Indiana
Contact:

Post by G-force » Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:41 pm

I think you mean the RF (Radio Frequency...I think) shielding. You can remove the RF metal plate without any problems. I am not really sure if that's waht you meant or not...

EDIT: NM, squee! beat me to it nad he understood it too.
Some pocket TV's use RF input but most use composite. You will have to figure out which it uses.

User avatar
kidw/32+systems
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 4:20 pm
Location: Clevelandish,OH

Post by kidw/32+systems » Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:52 pm

yes the rf box i mean remove the entire thing
PlayChoice games 50/54 37 toppers

User avatar
S q u e e !
Posts: 835
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Lost. Are you my mommy?

Post by S q u e e ! » Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:53 pm

Yes. Just desolder the 5 leads on the bottom of the NES board, and the 4 big tabs (these are easiest with a 100w soldering gun).
"I like my coffee like I like my women. In a plastic cup."

~Eddie Izzard

User avatar
usbcd36
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Inside Samus's arm cannon [gulp]___ Gender: Male

Post by usbcd36 » Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:02 pm

Yes, you can remove the RF box, but there is some stuff in there you have to recreate. First is you need to put in a new regulator. There is also a video amp circuit required to make the picture visible on the screen you're using. It's still better than keeping the original RF box; they are very simple circuits. You may have some trouble desoldering it though.

User avatar
demonofaj
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2553
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:52 pm
PSN Username: ajsen1gma
Steam ID: demonofaj
Location: NYC (718)
Contact:

Post by demonofaj » Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:47 pm

Not sure, but how about I just, solder via RCA connector.
"Life's a female of the dog species, then you die.."

User avatar
usbcd36
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Inside Samus's arm cannon [gulp]___ Gender: Male

Post by usbcd36 » Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:50 pm

If you just grab the video signal off of a NES and send it directly to an RCA connector, you will get almost nothing, a barely visible picture. You NEED to do a video amplifier circuit. It takes a certain transistor and a few resistors to make it work.

User avatar
kidw/32+systems
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 4:20 pm
Location: Clevelandish,OH

Post by kidw/32+systems » Tue Aug 16, 2005 8:40 am

ok i have it out but i need details from usbcd36 on what to do
PlayChoice games 50/54 37 toppers

User avatar
usbcd36
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Inside Samus's arm cannon [gulp]___ Gender: Male

Post by usbcd36 » Tue Aug 16, 2005 12:24 pm

Actually, it is not me, the whole thing is explained in Ben's book. After removing the RF box, you will see 5 holes with contacts. Hold the board so it is in the upper-left corner and they are as follows (from left to right): Power, Reset, +5v (if you connect it here, it will go directly into the system, this is usually where the output from the Power switch goes), audio out, and weak video output.

The audio circuit works fine the way it is, just attach a wire from the rightmost hole to the audio input on your screen. The video needs to be amplified, so build this circuit:

Code: Select all

     220 ohm
+5v----o=o----|
              |
         /____|
 2N4401 O|------- Video from NES
         \----|
      33 ohm  |
  |----o=o----|
  |-----------------Video to TV   
  |----o=o------- ground of NES
     220 ohm
Sorry about my ASCII, it's not very good, but you get the point. Also, the transistor flat side is to the left.

Post Reply