wire??

Hey, making some projects from my book? Got a question about something? Wanna share what you've done? Here's the place - go for it!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
satan165
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: tha RG, that 708
Contact:

wire??

Post by satan165 » Sat Mar 12, 2005 3:48 pm

i have no idea where i can get pre-1999 CPU ribbon cable

has anyone used regular small gauge wire? and if someone has old ribbon cable for sale, im your buyer! let me know!
Last edited by satan165 on Sat Mar 12, 2005 4:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
poopiesman
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 5:14 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Post by poopiesman » Sat Mar 12, 2005 4:22 pm

yea... I always wondered that too, where REALLY are we supposed to locate this crucial wire??? why doesn't ben list a type of wire we can purchase???

User avatar
satan165
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: tha RG, that 708
Contact:

Post by satan165 » Sat Mar 12, 2005 4:38 pm

i have to think that the ribbon cable is just easier to work with for when you are wiring numerous components (or parts of a component) that are next to one another, so you have less wires all over the place which can be hard to sort out

i mean i even have some extra ribbon cable around....but its not 6 years old. not sure what to do..............advice anyone?
Image

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Sat Mar 12, 2005 4:47 pm

does it need to be that kind? I don't see why regular IDE cable won't work...

JackFrost22
Sir Posts-alot
Posts: 4186
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 4:10 pm

Post by JackFrost22 » Sat Mar 12, 2005 5:46 pm

I could sell you some cheap. like a buck. I have boxes of the stuff

User avatar
HK-47
Moderator
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 2:17 pm
Location: /dev/moderator/
Contact:

Post by HK-47 » Sat Mar 12, 2005 6:37 pm

gannon wrote:does it need to be that kind? I don't see why regular IDE cable won't work...
Yeah, normal ide/ata cables all you need. Id joust go to a computer store and see if they have any cheap stuff in a discount bin or something.

User avatar
satan165
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: tha RG, that 708
Contact:

Post by satan165 » Sat Mar 12, 2005 8:08 pm

i dont care about a discount bin. ill pay whatever it costs. my point is that he makes a clear distinction between current ide cables and 'pre1999' stuff. im saying i have no clue where i can get that. so you are (those that have built portables) that you used regular, modern ribbon cables for everything?

i mean i understand wire is wire and in 1999 it was no different, i was just drawing attention to this statement he makes in the book...which everyone is just saying to disregard (as i was bascially going to anyways, feeling i had no choice)
Image

User avatar
G-force
Moderator
Posts: 3609
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 1:43 pm
Location: Sweet home Indiana
Contact:

Post by G-force » Sat Mar 12, 2005 8:25 pm

They sell the cable on www.allelectronics.com but it's cheaper to get it a computer store.

User avatar
satan165
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: tha RG, that 708
Contact:

Post by satan165 » Sat Mar 12, 2005 11:32 pm

im sure i can get ribbon cable 100 different places
thats not my point

i know people probably think im just being difficult but im not

"modern ultra ata hard drive cables have much thinner solid wire and a colored plug on one end. this type of wire can be used in some situations, but cannot carry enough current in others."

from page 54

this is my point and no one is addressing it
he says you can only use this on the tv

for the rest he says to get older cable
that is my question
how are people expected to find old cable like that
are you all saying that you used modern ATA cable and nothing fried and everything works fine, therefore that his warning about currents is not true?

im positive people think im being difficult but everyone seems to be ignoring the point of my original question

so can i used regular like 22 guage wire from raidio shack instead?
whats the deal?
what have you done in your own projects?
Image

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:24 am

I've never ran into any single wire ide cable before, even the newer ones I've used (although small at 29 or 30awg) use braided wire.

User avatar
satan165
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: tha RG, that 708
Contact:

Post by satan165 » Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:43 am

ive got a ribbon cable right in front of me
its 28 AWG
its grey and the connectors are black (not 'multi colored')
i stripped a lil bit and its definitely stranded

so i guess ill use this then, huh?
hang on ill take a pic
Image

User avatar
satan165
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: tha RG, that 708
Contact:

Post by satan165 » Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:46 am

Image

it appears to have 40 conductors
Image

User avatar
A.J. Franzman
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 11:38 pm
Location: La-La Land
Contact:

Post by A.J. Franzman » Sun Mar 13, 2005 2:01 am

That's the kind you need. Ben is (poorly) referring to the modern ATA-100 (and up) stuff that is the same width but has 80 conductors - those wires are too thin, and too close together for our purposes. If you're not familiar with these different types and you have some unknown ribbon cable to identify, all you need to know is that the ideal kind to use has 20 wires per inch, or less if you can find any (like in the Hip Gear Screen Pads).
Last edited by A.J. Franzman on Sun Mar 13, 2005 2:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mum! Dad! Don't touch it! It's EEE-VIL!

WTD: Donated dead Atari 2600 consoles, mobos, or their ICs.
2600 NTSC cartridges and manuals.
Click for TRADE/SELL and WANTED lists.

User avatar
satan165
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: tha RG, that 708
Contact:

Post by satan165 » Sun Mar 13, 2005 2:22 am

yes! thank you
that makes perfect sense

hard to believe this one cable will be enough for the whole project, but we shall see......
Image

User avatar
HK-47
Moderator
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 2:17 pm
Location: /dev/moderator/
Contact:

Post by HK-47 » Sun Mar 13, 2005 2:21 pm

satan165 wrote:yes! thank you
that makes perfect sense

hard to believe this one cable will be enough for the whole project, but we shall see......
He said roughly... But good to see you got some suitable wire. :)

Post Reply