benheck.com Forums

Videogame Hacking
It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:08 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: PS3 fan small 3 pin to PC fan big 3 pin
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 5:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 9:15 pm
Posts: 129
I want to swap out my stock PS3 fan with my smaller pc fan for my ps3 laptop, problem is the 3 pin on pc fan is bigger than the PS3 fan's 3 pins which connect to the motherboard.

If I swap the pins from each of the fans, so the pc fan has the small pin, do you guys think this will help power the fan?

(they both have 3 pins, 3 wires).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 8:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 179
you need to make sure the pins "match." One pin is power (and check the voltage!), one pin is ground, and one is the pulse used to measure the RPMs. Once you identify the pin positions, and confirm that the voltage is correct, you should be good to go.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 9:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 9:15 pm
Posts: 129
How can I confirm its voltage? Would I need a voltage meter?

Also dosnt a red/black wire mean -/+ voltage, and the last wire, yellow, the rpm wire?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 10:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:28 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Southern California
woox wrote:
How can I confirm its voltage? Would I need a voltage meter?

Also dosnt a red/black wire mean -/+ voltage, and the last wire, yellow, the rpm wire?


The red wire is voltage, the black wire is ground, and the yellow controls the rpm. And the voltage should be printed right on the fan. (make sure your pc fan voltage matches that of the original ps3 fan)

_________________
Image Laziness is a serious disease... My Ebay Reference . . . My video game collection


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 11:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 9:15 pm
Posts: 129
THe fan I bought operates from 8-14v, but the PS3 stock fan operates at 12v, since the new fan operates at multi voltages the installation should not be a problem correct? or do I need to get a resistor?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 6:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:28 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Southern California
woox wrote:
THe fan I bought operates from 8-14v, but the PS3 stock fan operates at 12v, since the new fan operates at multi voltages the installation should not be a problem correct? or do I need to get a resistor?


That is correct; no resistor needed.

_________________
Image Laziness is a serious disease... My Ebay Reference . . . My video game collection


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 9:15 pm
Posts: 129
ok well i tried plugging in the fan in today and it did not work for somereason, no idea why...the fan actual specs are LOWER than the stock fan Amp wise, so I know it shouldnt be a voltage issue...

The PS3 fan connector are RED, BLACK, GREY. I am assuming red is +12v and black is obviously ground, and grey I guess is data? But I cant be 100% sure if this is causiing the issue, anyone have a actual pinout or redirect me to one of where the +12v/ground/data pins actually are on ps3?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 5:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 179
I say grab a multimeter and check the pins. That would eliminate any question of what pin does what.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 9:15 pm
Posts: 129
Well I bought a multimeter today from walmart but not entirly sure how to use it :/ it has AC/DC options, some battery tests, and red and black probes which I guess go to the pins on the MOBO.

But how do I know what is ground and +12v and data from this?

EDIT:

Ok I kinda figured out how to use it, i set the AC V to 50volts and tried various combos on the 3 pins with red and black probe till the needle on the multimeter shot up, and it only shot up to what I geuss is 12v at:

+12v, GROUND, data.

This is the exact same way the substitute fan is connected to the PS3, yet it does NOT work, why?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 9:15 pm
Posts: 129
Upon further testing i can confirm 100% that the pins I have my fan connected to the ps3 motherboard is exactly correct, and the pins on mother board are working just fine and output a voltage of about 12v.


I have NO idea why this is not working, both fans are 12volts yet no cigar? Why?

I use a external powersource which outputs 12v for my substiture fan (to see if it even worked) and it worked JUST fine....

UPDATE:

Ok i tried a 2x2 fan (loL) and it apparently worked so I know now its a power issue, for somereason the fan is sucking too much power, even though the volts and amps are lower than and equal to of the original.....

Is it possible to use a resistor or something to lower the wattage or power the fan uses?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 302
The fan will pull only as much power as it needs. If it's not starting up, then there's not enough power for it to start, but there may be enough power for it to keep moving when it has been started.

Yes, you can use resistors to limit the voltage going into the fan, thus slowing it down. A resistor won't make the fan work better, it'll simply get less pwer, and thus work slower then. In that case, too much resistance may keep it from starting. A capacitor may help 'store' enough power to start it up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 11:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 9:15 pm
Posts: 129
Hmm that may be a good idea, from what I read online it seems the PS3 kicks up the voltaegs of fans as you enter games and such but on my retail ps3 the fan is always running here it does not start up at all :/

Can you tell me what kind of capictor I will be needing and where exactly does it hook up at?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 1:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 302
I'm just guessing, but a 12 volt+, 220uF capacitor ought to do the job inline on the 12v line (off the board, through the capacitor, and into the fan).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 1:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 9:15 pm
Posts: 129
Ok so only 1 capicator and that is for the +12v (red) wire...no ground then?

Also the capictor should be a 220uF capacitor how many volts? (10? 30? 50?)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 5:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 302
12 volt or higher capacitor, but not too high. I recommend a 220uF capacitor, but it may be able to take a smaller one, or it may need (though I doubt it) a larger one.

And yes, place it on the +12v wire. :) None would be needed or helpful on the ground line.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group