benheck.com Forums

Videogame Hacking
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:55 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: kasar´s second GCp project ,now of wood [with huge pics!]
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Posts: 634
Location: 127.0.0.1
well, I´m back at the forums, and now I decided to make my second gcp.
I´m low of money, so I decided recycle my first project, and get most stuff from it.

my first project has a lot of stuff, but it wasn´t really portable, and it also haven´t a controller built it, it also was ugly, and heavy.

At my second portable I will remove all useless stuff, like another controller ports, some serial ports and video/audio ports.

this will be a single player system only , the weight and case will be also some of my priorites making this project.

I´m also short of plastic tools, so I decided make it a wooden case, cause it is the only material I can handle properly I think.

well, that is all for the moment, this is a just started project. for moment I only have a few hardware hacks to this project, but there is lot of work to do.

I also has been take some ideas from bacteria,gamelver and another ppl projects . like the dvd drive reallocation,case design... ect
(thanks a lot for all those little genius ^^)


I also has made some pics for help anyone at his future projects.
well I will start from dvd drive fix
Image
Image

Image

I also made some modifications to the controller:

Image
Image

There is also some previews of my mobo mods
Image
Image
Image
Image

part of an unfinished case module, and part of the screen

Image

and finally the pic of the "ugly" soldering tool im using ^^

Image

Well, what to say .... :lol: ... there is a lot of work for do ^^

thanks also for all the info at this site and people who make this comunity posible.


I will post some pics and updates when the project grow at the next days

_________________
ImageImage
Original GCp FAQ and Guide


Last edited by kasar on Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:07 pm, edited 12 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:47 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 4:14 pm
Posts: 1551
Looking good so far! Are you going to go for a laptop design again? Or more handheld?

PS: Engine's run on gasoline, Motors run on electricity :lol:

_________________
http://www.purevolume.com/joeandhisguitar
Image
Blink Is Back


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 10:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Posts: 634
Location: 127.0.0.1
ghosstt wrote:
Looking good so far! Are you going to go for a laptop design again? Or more handheld?
thanks man, I think this time will be more like handheld,I am cuarently modding the controller to fit at the new case.I also posted a pic of the screen and part of and unfinished part of the front case (without paint and without controls yet)

ghosstt wrote:
PS: Engine's run on gasoline, Motors run on electricity :lol:
thanks ^^

that is another sympthom of why my english sucks :lol:

at spain we use the word "motor" for both systems (gasoline and electricity) so I thought the word at english was Engine, but as I can see I´M WRONG :P

pic fixed!

_________________
ImageImage
Original GCp FAQ and Guide


Last edited by kasar on Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 10:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 11:54 pm
Posts: 1450
Location: USA
can't wait to see the end-results

by the way, how much was that screen?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Posts: 634
Location: 127.0.0.1
grossaffe wrote:
can't wait to see the end-results

by the way, how much was that screen?

thanks man

about the screen , It was about for 150€ and it is 8" (4:3)

here is the info:
http://www.xenarc.com/product/800m.html

but I bought it a long time ago, it is also discontinued and it no longer will be sold.and this screen also doesnt support pal60 and some ntsc modes.
so I recomend to use another screen

_________________
ImageImage
Original GCp FAQ and Guide


Last edited by kasar on Sun Nov 15, 2009 8:33 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 302
I gotta say, that's looking so good, it's making me think I could do it, but I'm nowhere near that good at all yet. I've gotta ask, as I didn't see it marked anywhere though, what's the yellow square with the black tape all over it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Posts: 634
Location: 127.0.0.1
CFC Fodder wrote:
I gotta say, that's looking so good, it's making me think I could do it, but I'm nowhere near that good at all yet. I've gotta ask, as I didn't see it marked anywhere though, what's the yellow square with the black tape all over it?


Thanks man.

the "yellow square with the black tape" is a long history :D
but well I will try to make it short ^^
resuming, it is the qoob modchip (qoobpro), I shielded it cause I had problems at the first testing steeps from my first project,the battery droped some sulfuric acid and burned one of my qoob´s, the qoob its kinda expensive, so I buy another one, and I shielded it for be aware of any posible damage provided by the battery acid,after tried to seal the battery, it droped again, so all my attemps to seal it failed, so I replaced the bad batery for a sealed one. and after that I forgot remove the qoob shield.I think that explain what it is :D

Did you said you think you are able to do it?, so why not give it a chance? :wink:

_________________
ImageImage
Original GCp FAQ and Guide


Last edited by kasar on Sun Nov 15, 2009 8:35 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 302
Ah, okee. Now I understand what it is, thank you.

I'll attempt something a bit more complicated than an NES portable once I get one of those done. Until then, it's simplicity and a learning experience.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:58 am
Posts: 22
Location: Norfolk, UK.
Hey kasar, i notice you only have a few wires coming from the power board. Can you sahow we what wires you have done?. Also, what dod the other wires do which you haven't soldered, they can't all be ground.

_________________
Gamecube & modding enthusiast.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 4:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Posts: 634
Location: 127.0.0.1
Leetsauce wrote:
Hey kasar, i notice you only have a few wires coming from the power board. Can you sahow we what wires you have done?. Also, what dod the other wires do which you haven't soldered, they can't all be ground.


yeah, I used gamelver´s info to get this done.

here is his post

Gamelver wrote:
All right here's a pinout of the power regulator voltages:

first of all here's how the power regulator board looks:

Image
all you really have to worry about are pins 12-22. pin 13 is 3.4v, pins 16-18 are 1.9v, pin 21 is 12v, and pin 22 is 5v. also you have to make sure you have ground.
here's the pins on the GC ( that box with the lines is the heatsink....I suck at paint):

Image
pins 2 and 13 need 3.4v, pins 6,7,16,17,18,19 need 1.9v, pin 10 needs 12v, and pins 11 and 22 need 5v. just make sure that the pins that I've grouped together, like 6, 7, 16, 17, 18, 19 are connected together. they should be, though.

and that's how you only need 5 wires to attach the gc power regulator board to the GC board!!!!!!!!!!!!! that "bit of bad news" was that a gc regulator had fried and so I ordered another one....

* oh yeah if you turn on your GC and you don't get any sound, try getting the 12v not from the pin on the GC power regulator, but directly from the actual GC ac adapter. I also tried that from the 14.8v li-poly battery pack and it worked fine.


sorry for the reply delay, my connection was crapped again ^^, but now it go faster as usual :twisted:

_________________
ImageImage
Original GCp FAQ and Guide


Last edited by kasar on Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 5:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Posts: 634
Location: 127.0.0.1
Well, I have some news concerning the project.

but first lets going to let you know guys where this weird project is being building.

MY OWN ROOM! :)

Image

Well,after think a lot about if the BBA should be added to my project (I thought about it only two mins ... ^^) I finally added it.

what? why I added it?

easly, At my first project I made frecuently backups of my two 2048 blocks, a dol and a pc software to backup and restore savedgames from pc, .I also made some linux tests and a lot of another stuff, the BBA isn´t also very big for my project so, hell, I finally added it to the project. but as you know guys, I removed the serial ports to make it smaller, So how make this posible? easy, I reallocated and rewired the entire module wire per wire. here you have the pics.

Image
Image

and finally you can see at this pic the mod is working.

Image

here you can see all my modified gc:
Image
the gc network adapter is replying to the ping ,the default ip address using the qoob hardware is 192.168.1.32, I also tested the gcos server at the gc to send a dol from pc and it worked fine so I think everything related to the BBA reallocation has been done.
I also added more buttoms and wires to the controller, I think I also completed the controller rewiring, all required buttoms to reallocate has been reallocated (main joystick, d-pad, L buttom and L variable buttom.
pics here:


Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

I also I´m thinking about the best method for pack everything inside the case, Here is a preview about the screen and screen controller allocation at the new case
Image

_________________
ImageImage
Original GCp FAQ and Guide


Last edited by kasar on Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 11:14 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 4:14 pm
Posts: 1551
Looks really good so far! How is the DVD drive going to work? Just hanging open like on ben's ps1p?

_________________
http://www.purevolume.com/joeandhisguitar
Image
Blink Is Back


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 11:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:58 am
Posts: 22
Location: Norfolk, UK.
Wow, that's looking pretty cool. I have done one half of my memory card mod, putting the cable on th mobo, not such ahow decent the joints are, but it is set in hot glue anyway :P
Gonne need to hook up the power regualtor later. Also,my proper cube is broken. Think a wire is lose on the qoob, a tab and power goes from the qoob. :roll:

_________________
Gamecube & modding enthusiast.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 2:58 pm 
Offline
Niblet 64
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Posts: 5057
Location: In my inbox.
I think I posted a nice diagram of rewiring the DD as to remove that huge port somewhere...

SS

_________________
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 3:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Posts: 634
Location: 127.0.0.1
ghosstt wrote:
Looks really good so far! How is the DVD drive going to work? Just hanging open like on ben's ps1p?

thanks ^^
mmm,not sure.
it will be inside the box, I dont like have rotating discs outside the case :P, thats why i moded the drive

Leetsauce wrote:
Wow, that's looking pretty cool. I have done one half of my memory card mod, putting the cable on th mobo, not such ahow decent the joints are, but it is set in hot glue anyway :P
Gonne need to hook up the power regualtor later. Also,my proper cube is broken. Think a wire is lose on the qoob, a tab and power goes from the qoob. :roll:


ty man, I also had some problems after upload the photos and post, I tryed reallocate more buttoms at the controller, but something went wrong and the controller is not working properly, some keys dont work, or work weird and the joystick seems crazy sometimes, so I think I will get another controller and place some buttoms there.


ShockSlayer wrote:
I think I posted a nice diagram of rewiring the DD as to remove that huge port somewhere...

SS
links please :wink:


Last edited by kasar on Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:58 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group