benheck.com Forums

Videogame Hacking
It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:24 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: reset button
PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 12:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 7:29 pm
Posts: 130
I don't know how to make a reset button for my nes portable. I want to make one for games that save, and just to make it easier when I want to restart the system :? . How would I go about making one?

_________________
Markus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: reset button
PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 12:15 am
Posts: 315
On a NES the reset button was essentially a kill switch. I think.....lol


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: reset button
PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 4:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 6:08 pm
Posts: 39
Location: The great city of Cleveland Ohio!
If you look at the blue connector for the power/reset/led breakout board, I think the contacts are there for you to use. Here's what you need. It's the first thing.

http://www.raphnet.net/electronique/nes_mod/nes_mod_en.php

_________________
When I die and they lay me to rest
Gonna go to the place that's the best
When I lay me down to die
Goin' up to the spirit in the sky...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: reset button
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 7:29 pm
Posts: 130
umm i read it, but it had very little instructions on what to do. and that was an nes mod, not for a portable..

_________________
Markus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: reset button
PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 8:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 6:08 pm
Posts: 39
Location: The great city of Cleveland Ohio!
OH sorry. If you put a switch in between the ground and reset button on the blue connector, that should do the trick. I will look at my NES to make sure.

_________________
When I die and they lay me to rest
Gonna go to the place that's the best
When I lay me down to die
Goin' up to the spirit in the sky...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: reset button
PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2010 11:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 7:29 pm
Posts: 130
Yeah, but I desoldered my blue connector from my nes. The buttons aren't connected to the system anymore, so they aren't of use to me. I have an om, off switch for my portable, just no reset button.

_________________
Markus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: reset button
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 9:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:19 pm
Posts: 329
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
If you read about his remote reset switch, he says that he just touches the two wires together. So get a normally open switch, and solder it between the two wires. I guess you could use a toggle, but I wouldn't recommend it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: reset button
PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 10:31 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:32 pm
Posts: 1873
Location: (the only person here from) Vermont
All you need is a button that is normally closed (it makes a connection when it isn't pressed). Hook that up to your negative power line. When you press the button, it makes a break in the circuit, and there is no current flow. When you release the button, it reconnects the power, basically, and you system will turn on again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: reset button
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 11:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:19 pm
Posts: 329
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
limpport wrote:
All you need is a button that is normally closed (it makes a connection when it isn't pressed). Hook that up to your negative power line. When you press the button, it makes a break in the circuit, and there is no current flow. When you release the button, it reconnects the power, basically, and you system will turn on again.

The only thing wrong with that, is you can't save any games.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: reset button
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 12:41 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:53 pm
Posts: 2670
Location: ohio
I save my games all the time without the reset button.

_________________
rest in peace, Ronnie James Dio! \m/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: reset button
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 1:11 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:36 pm
Posts: 1977
Location: Detroit, MI
themadhacker wrote:
I save my games all the time without the reset button.

_________________
Kyo wrote:
"does anyone here know how to fly a plane?"

"STAND BACK EVERYBODY, I HAVE A FAKE ID"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: reset button
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 8:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:19 pm
Posts: 329
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Well you can't save any games on a PowerPak ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: reset button
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 8:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 7:29 pm
Posts: 130
Well I just won't do the reset button. I figured, the only game I have that saves is Zelda, so ONE game won't make a huge diffference. Oh yeah, I got everything hooked up, and I will post pics... whenever i get the casing done :D :D :D

_________________
Markus


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group