How hard is it to make Ben's CNC PS1P...

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator:Moderators

scaramanga_goldengun
How hard is it to make Ben's CNC PS1P...

Post by scaramanga_goldengun » Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:22 pm

...if you have no electronic or soldering knowledge at all? I'm interested in making myself a portable, since now I have both the time and the money, but I have no experience with electronics and the such. I don't want to spend time or money trying to do an older console, which some people say is easier, because I don't have any games older than PS1 games, which I have plenty of now.
It's Festivus for the Rest of Us!

TheOnlyOneHeFears
Portablizer

Post by TheOnlyOneHeFears » Sat Apr 07, 2007 2:27 am

Case-wise it's very easy, as all you're doing is gluing side walls to plates etc. You obviously have to have access to a router or laser engraver though.

Electronics-wise, I would say it's relatively tough. I havn't done it myself, but you have to extend the disk drive's ribbon cable, which looks very fiddly and precise. Apart from that, most of the other stuff is pretty straight forward.

If you've done no soldering or anything before, I wouldn't recommend the PS1p as a first portable. You could try a NOACp or a few little mods on existing consoles to practise your skills.

Life of Brian

Post by Life of Brian » Sat Apr 07, 2007 7:55 am