nes/snes portable - finished page 14

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator:Moderators

lovablechevy
Portablizer Extraordinaire
nes/snes portable - finished page 14

Post by lovablechevy » Tue Mar 11, 2008 1:00 pm

i originally wasn't going to post anything about my project unless i actually got it working. but, i like what i've gotten done so far, so i thought i'd actually start a work log. plus that way i can get some comments from you guys.

please keep in mind that this is my very first attempt at a portable.

so i'm portablizing the RetroDuo and using the zn-40 case. i know that might not seem logical, but i think i've got it figured out as to how it will work. i'll have to have internal batteries, so i'm going to use some li-ion batteries.

i haven't really done much electronically speaking. i'm still gathering all of those materials. however, i have gotten a good start on the case. now, don't laugh. i don't have much experience with a dremel, so some of what i did might seem silly. but it works well for me.

anyway, enough chat and on to a pic or two! this is not my most recent progress. i'm not at home right now where my most recent pics are. this is my progress as of march 7th.

like i said, not good with a dremel. so i thought it'd be much easier for me to just cut out the already perfectly square screen. and it was very easy.

i took this right after i superglued and bondoed the controller holes in. i have since sanded and spot puttied a few times. and in case you didn't know, those two holes under the d-pad are the 8-bit & 16-bit led indicators. i just thought it'd be cool to include them.

i decided to hack apart parts of the retro duo system to use on my portable. this is going to be the nes cart slot cover. this pic was taken right after i simply cut them off of the console. i've since cut them down to the correct size.